HALLOWEEN WRITING PROMPT

Something You Should Know

A letter of confession

Sweedle
What Is Love To You?

--

Photo by Jess moe on Unsplash

Dearest Boo,

They say misery loves company, but little did I know I was wishing for a feeling I haven’t felt in years. The night was the time to get out of the house. The sun was never kind to my skin.

Darkness lulled me further to the realm of danger outside, a little wisp of light lulled me to take a leap into the world beyond my front door. The breath of fresh air and the sounds of footsteps huddling were worth taking the risk. I suffer from a curse that prevents me from walking under the sun. But there is nothing a spell wouldn’t fix. (I had to befriend a witch)
You must be frowning. I can sense the tilt of your lips. Fear not gentle heart, I am a harmless monster. Harmless for I would never hurt you. Perhaps that’s why they say love is blind. I never had the intention of associating with another soul, let alone a human being, but you changed everything. My eyes fell on your tantalizing smile the minute I stepped into the lonely bar. Like a force, you pulled me towards you without saying a word. The excitement of knowing you surpassed the fear of exposing my true identity. A little conversation with you only made it worse. I HAD to meet you again even if it costs me losing my power.

Being a vampire restricts you beyond normalcy. It would not surprise me if you screamed and ran away to oblivion. But the intent of this letter was to profess my feelings for you, pure and genuine, like your heart. Maybe after reading this, you might not want to see me again, but I would always harbor the memories we made on the loneliest nights of my life. I am indebted to your softness and kind spirit. But if you ever wish for another meeting (I hope you do), just look at the full moon and whisper my name.

Farewell, for now, my love,

Your silent lover.

--

--

Sweedle
What Is Love To You?

sister, polyglot, writer, INFP. Currently struggling between good poems and bad stories!