Love

The Blip In Romance For Valentine’s Day # 06

the blind date turn out wrong but end with a surprise…

Lissa
What Is Love To You?

--

Photo by Llanydd Lloyd on Unsplash

Disclaimer: None of the characters in this article and story refers to anyone in particular, dead or alive.

“You see this? You see this?” asked Mehmet.

He shows an envelope excitedly. He waves it in the air. He kisses it — a good luck kiss.

“Attention: To my pineapple tart…

Signed off: your Valentine.”

Mehmet admires Sarah for a long time, but he fears her mom — a single mother.

Sarah has been teaching from home and helping her mom deliver the pineapple tart in the evening. Her mom has been busy baking pineapple tarts to sell online.

Sarah delivers 2-bottles of pineapple tarts to Mehmet’s family regularly. The orders are all for the sake of seeing Sarah.

And besides, the delicacy is very delicious.

“Are you sure about this? Do you want to date her for this Valentine’s day?” asked Ercan.

Mehmet nods his head enthusiastically like a confident boy. He must not ask for a valentine’s date directly because Mother Rosie is scary. So, a letter will do the job.

He slid the letter beneath the space of the door. Quickly, Ercan and Mehmet run away to hide. They must not bump into Rosie.

What is this? Rosie feels she has stepped onto something. She switches on the light and takes the letter.

No name? she wonders by herself. Then she starts smiling from ear to ear. It read “To my pineapple tart from your valentines”. Whoa.

She starts selling pineapple tarts not long ago. She is less confident about getting anyone to notice it. But now! It has been generating sales, and now, she also receives a love letter!

How did I get a secret admirer? Me? With my size and being a single mother? She feels great. She smiles from ear to ear, and her cheeks glow pink. The brand ‘my pineapple tart’ is her brainchild or idea. Not her daughter’s.

She reads the letter.

My dear pineapple tart,

Your smile is like sunlight in my heart. The taste of your tart is as sweet as your baby face. Your eyes mesmerized me like a magnet pull. Your hair bun up neat brings out the joy from your face…Oh, my dear pineapple tart…you melted my heart like your pineapple tart melts gently in my mouth…so sweet…savory…just like you.

Every description matches Rosie’s features and how she feels about herself. She glows in smiles more and more. She wonders who this man is. Is this a newfound love after many years nobody takes notice or interest in her? Rosie continues reading.

My dear pineapple tart…Would you accept being my Valentine, please? Pretty please with a strawberry on top? I will wait for you at the Hotel XYZ restaurant at 7 pm. I hope you will accept my plea.

Love, your Valentine…

She folds the letter and races up to the room. Tomorrow is Valentine’s Day! Why did he surprise me at the last minute? Ah, secret admirer, ah…

Time: 630pm. | Place: XYZ Restaurant. | Dress Code: Masquerade

Photo by DANNY G on Unsplash

She sits at the table waiting. Mehmet and Ercan sit at the table far away from her. Mehmet is afraid Sarah will not turn up. Perhaps if she does not turn up, he will not feel embarrassed because Ercan is with him. To his surprise, Rosie is waiting instead!

“Ohhhh…shit…finished! I am done! Her mom is here…” stuttered Mehmet.

Ercan’s eyes went big and his neck seems paralyzed. He can’t turn his head around to look. Mehmet becomes nervous.

“Then what? Did you recognize her mom? Really? …” asked Ercan

Mehmet nods confidently. He seems like he is meeting a ghost instead of his valentines.

“Oh no….no….no….how do we leave this place then?… Her mom got your letter instead of Sarah? Oh my goodness….” said Ercan as he buries his face into his palms.

“Let’s wait. We see how everything goes,” suggested Mehmet.

30 minutes pass by. No signs and sight of her secret admirer. She starts to feel something isn’t right. She starts to feel insulted. At another table, there is another man as big as Rosie. He is alone just as long as Rosie has been waiting. At last, the man walks over to Rosie.

“Hi, I am Diyogen..Hmm..Do you mind if I join you tonight? It seems like only the two of us are alone?” asked Diyogen.

Rosie smiles between shyness and embarrassment.

“Better than me being alone. You are welcome. I am Rosie. So, are you being stood up too? He invited me, but did not show up…So ridiculous.” Rosie pours out to him automatically. They get along very well.

Mehmet and Ercan decided to quietly walk out of the restaurant. They tip-toe towards the stairs, and Rosie’s eyes catch them. Her face changes automatically too. Diyogen turns to look.

“Mehmetttttttt! I already suspected it must be you! Who else if the letter is not meant for me? Who else will it be for?” Rosie runs up to him and pulls his ear. She pinches Ercan when he tries to defend Mehmet.

“Please…Please forgive us…I really want to date your daughter. I like her…I am sorry, but the letter is not for you, Aunty Rosie.” said Mehmet.

Diyogen shakes his head and stands between Rosie and Mehmet to stop their bickering. Rosie turns shy after Diyogen calls her oh! my fateful valentine.

She turns a monster in split seconds when she looks at Mehmet.

“GO! Go to my house now. I will call her now and ask her to get ready. Make sure she comes back home before 12 midnight. Or else….Or ELSE…” Rosie makes a fist.

Mehmet jumps happily.

“Seriously? Okay! Okay! Okay! I go now. I go now. I bring her back to my home by midnight, right?” Mehmet.

“TO MY HOME, NOT YOURS!” screamed Rosie.

He runs at lightning speed. Rosie continues her date with Diyogen.

Happy Valentines’ Day. Thank you for reading, even if this comes late after Valentines Day. 🌹

--

--

Lissa
What Is Love To You?

Author who wrote about Life in Yemen | Writer on Medium with Random Topics | Catholic by Faith