The Truth About Dating a Foreigner

Isn’t it the most romantic thing ever?

Miss Arte
What Is Love To You?
3 min readMay 13, 2022

--

Photo by Unknown from Pixel-Shot

You’d think dating a foreigner would be the most romantic thing in the world. The idea of learning a new language, being in an exotic place, and discovering a new culture. Then, you remember your British and your dating an American.

Yet, what dating a foreigner actually means; a ton of paperwork, lots of stress, and more complications than you could even imagine.

So, Why? Because sometimes, life is just comical, and if you don’t laugh at it, you will cry.

It’s not like love; it’s hard enough to find on its own. Then when you do… When you connect with your ‘soulmate,’ they happen to be on the other side of the world, and you release, at that moment, that love is a cynical and twisted bitch who’s gonna make you work your butt off for that. Happily ever after!

Although I promise you, THERE IS romance, passion, and love. No, my partner might not whisper beautiful french in my ear before I fall to sleep or teach me their family’s amazing recipes. But, what I do get is what everyone should really be looking for; someone that understands me, respects me, and is willing to build a life with me. NO MATTER how much red tape we will have to jump through.

Honestly, though, dating a foreigner has been one of the most eye-opening adventures I’ve ever had. You need to have the right mental fortitude to take it on. I still don’t know if I have what it takes… I have always wanted to be somewhere I am not in my life. Focusing on my future, our future before we even share our first in-person meal. Yes, I am that person… however, I did get into this relationship knowing what the outcome would be. Most of the time, you get to a point in every relationship where you need to decide where it’s going. For me, I knew what they wanted from day one, even if we didn’t discuss details until day two. It was fast, but the process of getting to our goals is gonna be slow.

Although that’s the thing… isn’t it…The devil is in the details. I’ve always known where it was going… just not how it would take to get there. So, I decided to Google how one marries an American and legally moves to the United States. Let’s say that the floor shattered beneath me, and my world crumbled… Well, that might be an understatement.

That, my friend, is the harsh truth about dating a foreigner. Although it might help you all to know, as I write this comically cynical take on love, I am smiling. Because although there is a lot of red tape… A LOT!

I still live by this saying:

“Once you have found the person you’re going to be with for the rest of your life, nothing else matters.”

And… It’s true! I believe that together, as a team will work through anything and everything that is thrown at us. Because our dream life, desires, and goals are all achievable if we work together. So don’t take this piece as a reason not to date a foreigner; instead, maybe fall for one that ticks off at least one of the three sexy expectations. Teehee x

--

--

Miss Arte
What Is Love To You?

British sexually curious women making life changing choices, exploring love, having adventures and writing about all of it in a very confusing world!