What If I Promised To Love You More Each Year?

An open letter to the women we were and the women we are becoming

Isla Orange
What Is Love To You?
2 min readJun 15, 2022

--

Photo by Polina Kovaleva

To the women we were,

I look to you with honour now, not as a mistake or flaw.
Hostile mistreatment once your only audience I see you as my dear battered friend. My only friend who sees me in and out, how did I torment you so long? Thinking you’d make it through somehow or other with suffering galvanising your heart. Only a clown would carry on tearing you apart.

I say,
It’s the fire in my eyes,
And the flash of my teeth,
The swing in my waist,
And the joy in my feet.

I’m a woman
Phenomenally.

Maya Angelou, from the poem Phenomenal Woman.

What if I promised that I would love you more next year than I do this day? Would it give you confidence? Give you enough strength to vigorously embrace the beauty that is you?

Last year your efforts went unnoticed. Your hard work not so gently leading you astray. Worry not dear self for I saw you. I saw you commit to better, I watched you tumble as you found your sea legs.

Dear self, I promise to love you more each day, to invite your flaws in as lessons. Self, If I promise to love you more and most, love you unconditionally like your mother always did and will can you accept the woman that you were?

What would happen If I promised you infinite vivacity from loving the self you were? I can promise you love and acceptance with this just imagine the things we can accomplish!

Isla’s stories escape her almost without permission. Walking her to unexpected courage with a taste of bravery and stolen lips meetings.

If you want to subscribe to Medium, do it through here, so Isla can feel like she’s thirty, flirty and thriving ;) And you know, help her feed Simon 🌙🐈‍⬛

--

--

Isla Orange
What Is Love To You?

Fiction Writer 🌙 Manifester 🌙 | Swimmer | Gamer | Occasional Poet and Courage collector ;)