You Don’t Love Me How I Want to Be Loved.

An Unfortunate Battle Between Lovers

GentleWarrior.
What Is Love To You?
3 min readJan 23, 2022

--

NordWood Themes | Unsplash.com

My primary love languages are Words of Affirmation and Physical Touch

Quality time follows, then Acts of Service, Gifts

Words are so powerful to me

The memory of what was said constantly playing in my head thoroughly warms my heart

The thought of your hand caressing my back, and chest

Your lips against mine run laps in my mind

Though we’d require all languages in this intimate environment, “Primary” only identifies the actions that resonate with us most

There is no “one size fits all” in love and relationships

As the love that you share with your current may be much different from the previous

Some “love” is less fulfilling than it should be due to factors that seem to be out of one’s control

But we navigate from here.. as best as we can

We’ve spent some time together, years. Things were but a dream before

Major changes occurred as time progressed; life happens

But I recognize changes in your behavior

You identify this being due to past trauma and disappointments

You’ve been made false promises for far too long that you are to the point where words mean little to nothing

You grew in a home where your voice made no difference despite how loud you screamed as if you were surrounded by brick walls

So you do not feel the need to speak them anymore; only action matters to you

I love you’s are exchanged very often from my end, but this is a result of my constant expression as I had much practice during my childhood

Normally, you’d become irritated by this, but you give in.. for love’s sake

Unfortunately, one out of two of my primary love languages are unfulfilled

I express this to you, but the walls that you’ve put up are too high and thick for either of us to knock over with ease

I suggest external assistance and activities to extinguish the flames that burn this bridge

You deny these methods as you feel that you can take care of this on your own , in your own time, so it seems I have to find another way across

However, trying to problem solve takes energy, motivation

I choose to refill my cup by pouring it into my hobbies

You spend more than enough time at work to come home, exhausted

Too tired to physically engage me as I had been waiting for the moment to finally lay with you

To feel your touch, inhale your scent.. to hear your voice as you tell me about your long day

Though it seems that there is some disconnect here that I’m unaware of

Maybe it was all in what was discussed before regarding trauma that’s causing the relationship to slowly decline... maybe it’s not

There once was a time when you were crazy over me, and me for you

“How had we gotten to this point? Is it me?” I start to think.

I check for your happiness with questions to gauge how you feel in this space as your feelings are important as well

“Is there anything that I can do that I’m not already doing?”

“Am I missing anything?”

“Are you happy?”

“Nothing, I’m fine,” she replies. Seeming to be confused at why I ask

I was upset with this answer, feeling lost at where to go from here

I express myself constantly.

Desiring the physical attention since there was no hope for verbal affirmation, but something always comes up

How could I feel secure and loved in a space where my cries for help have gone ignored?

The relationship that I had poured so much time and effort into, falling apart before me

Things are out of my control

I don’t want to leave, but I know something has to give

I feel that I’m talking to a brick wall just as you felt in your child home

You don’t love me in the way that I want to be loved

It’s only a matter of time until the split… as all hope is lost on my end at this moment

--

--

GentleWarrior.
What Is Love To You?

Shawn Newsome. | My stories are a combination of my life’s experiences, the experiences of others, and the things that come to mind.