Love letter to Seattle

Silvia Li Sam
WRITE LAB
Published in
5 min readMar 21, 2016
Pike Place Market by Silvia Li

Making memories for myself and maybe for you too

Keeping this love in photographs

and traveling through them

Dear Seattle,

While my friends started posting pictures going to #Cabo2016, I came to finally meet you. I came to see if everything they’ve been saying about you is true.

On the first day, I fell in love with you.

We visited one of your most beautiful parks: Washington Park. It was super convenient to stay at my friend’s house in Capitol Hill since the park was a couple miles down the road.

Washington Park Arboretum, Evergreen State (Washington) — Seattle by Silvia Li
A little rain by Silvia Li

A little later, we attempted to take a picture near the Olympic Sculpture Park.

  1. Make sure the rocks are steady
  2. Don’t wear heels reflection
  3. Pretend it’s not cold

I tend to not do touristy things when I travel so my friends recommended to avoid the Space Needle. Instead, I visited one of my favorite beautiful museums now: The Chihuly Garden & Glass.

“I want people to be overwhelmed with light and color in a way they’ve never experienced” — Dale Chihuly

And since I missed the Space Needle:

I came right in time to visit UW. Compared to other schools I’ve been to, they have a garden of cherry blossom trees which makes me quite jealous.

They have Morsel, an amazing breakfast/brunch place that serves lavender lattes and A+ biscuits.

Lavender Latte & Spanish Fly @ Morsel

They have the Amazon physical bookstore which it pushed me to buy more books than ever.

Amazon bookstore @ University Village

One of my favorite parts of this trip is to explore coffee shops in Seattle. It’s incredible how many great coffee spots there are and how each of them is packed with Macbooks and espressos. The interior design was 100/100.

Moore Coffee Shop

Most beautiful art latte I’ve ever seen. Don’t believe me? Go to their Yelp page.

Cafe Madrid — Moore

Starbucks Reserve Roastery & Tasting Room

A special Starbucks that only serves their Premium coffee. Although I didn’t try their coffee, the design of this Starbucks is beautiful. See it with your own eyes :).

S

Storyville Coffee Company

If you are tired of walking around Pike Place, Storyville is in a location right next to Pike Place that surprisingly not that many people know about. If it wasn’t for my fellow Yelpers, I wouldn’t have seen this place.

Credit: Laine C.

Eastern Cafe in the International District

If you are around the area waiting for Link, the SLUT (yes THE SLUT), or the bus and you have some time to spare, this is the place to go. A combination of Asian art and French crepes is something worth your time I bet.

Food. Oh yeah, I heard there’s nothing good to eat in Seattle. Oh look at those veggies. You don’t want to eat it huh!

@ Pike Place

Kurt Farm Shop

Forget about Molly Moon’s! This place in Capitol Hill beat my expectations about ice cream.

Araya’s Place

Vegan and love Thai food? Araya is the place to go! $12 buffet on the weekdays. Two locations: UW & Capitol Hill.

Piroshky Piroshky

Get the salmon pate. No doubt.

Vostok Dumpling House

Craving more Russian food? Or want to try a new type of dumplings? Vostok is a pretty affordable place in Capitol Hill ($6 for 10 dumplings)

I’ll be back Seattle.

I want to thank you Seattle for the art, the coffee, the food, and for the hospitality of the people in Seattle, especially to my friend Sara Clayton for showing me around.

Do you have any more suggestions? Please recommend and let me know your thoughts!

I write about social impact, traveling, design, and tech.

Learn more about me:

--

--

Silvia Li Sam
WRITE LAB

CEO & Founder slammedialab.com 🇵🇪🇨🇳🇺🇸 | Webflow, SEO, Content Marketing