Just another Chooseday!

Debjani Chatterjee
What the food!
Published in
2 min readJun 6, 2017

It is 7:54 AM, and I just completed an hour of exercising with my roomies. You must be thinking “Why do I need to know that?”. Well, I did all that moving around and now I am hungry. It is now 2 minutes to 8 AM and I wonder whether the new guy is going to turn up today.

This new guy is Suresh, a cook, in his twenties and is from Orissa. Two out the three of us are Bengalis here and we thought an Oriya guy would do justice to our taste of food. How wrong were we! or mostly me. Well, that’s a story for another time.

I think by the time I complete writing this post it will be evident that the guy will no longer come. Nevertheless, the wait is always worth all that time before the oven.

As I am writing this, the aroma of freshly fried parantha is filling up the hall through the balcony. The ones living downstairs have one awesome cook among them. I have not interacted much with them but either to ask them to move their garbage bags from the door or to take in all the tantalizing smell of whatever that the guy cooks.

My deal with the door and garbage bags is that I share my floor with them — the cook and his friends, on the third floor. The one I am sitting in right now is of boyfriend’s and his roommate’s.

There comes a final wave of breeze with that distinct aroma and I now know for sure that my cook won’t come. So I decide to go to a newly opened South Indian place. But then again it gets canceled and I decide to make some mango milkshake.

The number of mangoes to the amount of milk ratio goes all wrong because I just have a cup of milk left. I make the shake anyway only to get mango puree instead of the shake. I ‘eat’ some of that ‘milkshake’ and during the process of transferring it spills on the floor. I curse my clumsy self, clean it and move on for the day with something for lunch I had made two days back. I booked Uber, and then I had a sudden craving for an omelette, took me two minutes, I stuffed it in a container and headed off for the day.

Most mornings are uneventful like today. And messy, it has been messier. I put the wrong lid on the wrong cooker and sometimes prefer to throw away than to wash a container. Days like this make me wonder. Is this what I have been destined to do? Is all these worth something?

--

--