Lafugue Logos / Made with Chisel

This is the job

Joe Anderson
What they forgot to tell me
2 min readJun 19, 2013

--

Inspired by Wilson Miner’s recent post

As a design founder, there are many moments when you are doing things that are uncomfortable, unknown, and not design. With only two people working on the startup you have to code. You have to market. You have to design. You have to test. You have to sell. You have to do customer service. You have to figure out the product. You have to approach strangers. You have to keep calm when things aren’t going so well. You have to believe you can, because if not you who will?

When talking with other designers and friends they always mention I’m suprised you have to do so much to which I reply

What else can you do, you have no choice.

It wasn’t until I read Wilson’s post that it made sense. It brought out what I was truly feeling. When you approach strangers to test your product you have to muster up the courage of even approaching them. How often do you see people approaching strangers in a non social setting? It’s not something you have much practice with. But then you remember those words

Detective, this right here, this is the job.

When you have so many things to do, things you don’t want to do, things that make you nervous, or even give you self doubt, remember those words. A lot of what you hear and see is very glamorous. There are some posts about the “darker” side but you can never know until you experience it yourself. This quote really calms me whenever I am in an uncomfortable situation. I hope it does the same for you.

“This right here, this is the job. Now, when you came downtown, what kind of work were you expecting?” -Lester Freamon

--

--

Joe Anderson
What they forgot to tell me

Helping the marketing team with design thinking at Realm. Follow me @Anderson760