Found a mirror? Get Ready to Die

Miranda VanHorn
What’d I Miss?
Published in
2 min readAug 1, 2017
Image from Flickr user SobControllers

“This world is like the real world, but evil has twisted it.”

The Game:

Zelda: A Link to the Past was first published by Nintendo for the Super Nintendo in 1992(US). Link has to save a princess, but shit hits the fan and things get complicated. Also you can get murdered by a herd of chickens?

I played this on the Super Nintendo and I could not finish it.

The Reveal

Hell yeah evil has twisted it. Did you see that bunny? This was a game that kids played?

People under the age of 15 beat this game?

I am apparently a trash human and died hundreds, possibly thousands, of times. Even the very first castle destroyed me.

As a person who knew absolutely nothing about how to play any Zelda game, I was incredibly frustrated. At first I did not want to use a walk-through, but I quickly realized there was no way that I could do anything without it. I played through the entire first castle without anything, because I did not know about the random fairy people that restart you closer to where you died. I did not know about upgrading equipment, or any of the secret locations. I KNEW NOTHING.

Let’s be clear: I did not finish the game and I still know nothing.

My friends came over and they were the only reason I even got through the second and third castle. Hell, they were the only reason I even got INTO the third castle.

HOW WAS I SUPPOSE TO KNOW ABOUT THE TRANSLATION BOOK?

Also, that evil caterpillar guy absolutely sucks.

And don’t even get me started on that damn mirror.

You can apparently swing your sword in a circle?

Despite all this whining, I do have some good thoughts. I can think of no other game where I died more than five times in the same area, yet still wanted to continue on. It took me a very, very long time to finally give up. For the time that it came out, the mechanics are pretty advanced, and it still had less glitches than some current Bethesda games.

Call for help

Every gamer in the world loves Zelda. It is currently the only reason people are buying the Switch. Please tell me the other games are better. I was so excited. So very hopeful.

Now I cry.

--

--