My Spark

Fabricio "Fab" Montenegro
FM’s Whatevers
Published in
2 min readAug 28, 2023
Image created by the author with the help of AI. Or maybe the other way around.

In the dark forest of life, flames shine bright, and distant beacons cut the night, illuminating crowds and showing the way.

Within me, a tiny spark flickers. It is beautiful. I’m mesmerized by it and I want to hold it high, breaking the darkness and inspiring those around me who, just like me, crawl in the dark.

I nurture my spark, make it the brightest it can be, and, proud of it, I raise it high. As soon as I do, someone runs by with a bright torch, its light fending back the unknown, standing ground against darkness. It shines bright, rendering my tiny spark invisible, effectively erasing it.

I still hold it up a second and two, then my arms quiver, and I hide it back inside.

“I’d like to be out there, please,” my spark says.

“I know,” I say.

“Why do you keep me here?” the spark asks.

“I can’t see you when you’re out there,” I answer.

“I see,” it says. “No one else can see me here, though.”

“I know,” I say.

“Would you hold me high, please?” the spark begs.

“I wish I could,” I say. “But I have meek arms and a weak spirit.”

“I see,” it says. “It’s crystal clear.”

I stay silent, watching the runner with the torch, lost in admiration.

“I hope,” my spark says, “one day I can be as bright as that torch, so that you’ll let me out and still be able to see me.”

“That would be nice,” I say. “I’d like that. I hope one day my arms and my spirit grow strong, so that I can hold you up there regardless of other lights.”

“That would be nice,” my spark says. “I’d like that.”

--

--

Fabricio "Fab" Montenegro
FM’s Whatevers

I write sci-fi and fantasy with existential undertones. You can call me Fab.