金禾Cha Chaan Teng

Delicious Poon Choi For One

Missy Indy
whatindyeats
2 min readJun 16, 2020

--

Date of Visit: 15 June 2020

Taking over the cafe September on Wellington Street, 金禾 Cha Chaan Teng is a local cha chaan teng that serves inexpensive quality food in large portion. I had my lunch box with me, so that I was able to keep some rice in it for takeaway.

Poon Choi for One

I came for this Poon Choi for one. This little pot of gourmet is perfect for solo diners (and sharing of course). For HKD$70, you have pig skin, radish, squid, chicken, roasted pork, fish ball, roasted goose and veggies in the pot. On top of that, you also get a bowl of rice, as well as a bowl of soup or drink.

I love everything in the pot! I don’t usually eat pig skin and radish, but they were so nicely flavored with the broth and not salted at all. The pig skin was so soft that it almost felt like melting on my tongue! Lovely!

Chicken, roasted pork, fish ball and roasted goose were all of high quality, very delicious and not greasy at all. You might feel like this Poon Choi might be a bit too much for one, but trust me, you would finish it on your own for their tastiness!

Homemade Soup

I was happy for the choice of soup over hot drink. This potatoes, tomatoes, carrots and chicken legs soup was gorgeous! While I was sipping it, I could hear a man saying that the soup here was so good that it’s better than their home cooked one. I can’t agree more.

Definitely coming back for dinner after working out nearby! Now I understand why another uncle said that he took the ding ding from Wan Chai to Central to have dinner here.

📍金禾Cha Chaan Teng
G/F, 108–110 Wellington Street, Central, Hong Kong

--

--

Missy Indy
whatindyeats

Registered Social Worker | Psychologist | Hype Life | Urban Outdoor