JenJen Bakery Love

Hearty, Healthy, Delicious and Pretty Cake

Missy Indy
whatindyeats
3 min readOct 8, 2020

--

Date of Visit: 5 Oct 2020

Black Sesame Chiffon Cake with low sugar taro paste, peanut butter and warabi mochi

JenJen Bakery Love is a really popular IG cake shop, with its bakery/pick up point located in Kowloon Bay Industrial Centre. I tried to order the signature cake roll before, but wasn’t lucky enough. This second time luck allowed me to try out this fantastic Mid-Autumn cake as my early birthday cake.

Black Sesame Chiffon Cake with low sugar taro paste, peanut butter and warabi mochi

The whole ordering process was really smooth and timely. I do really appreciate Jen, who must have tried her very best to reply all the customers’ enquiries on her own, on top of preparing all the cakes by herself.

And the process of taking the cake was a very pleasant one. An auntie, I assume she is Jen’s mother or relative, is a very kind and patient lady. She explains to every customers flavours of various part of the cake (just like those fine-dining restaurants!). She shows her passion in Jen’s cakes by recalling last year’s flavor and her personal favourite. Throughout this few minutes conversation, she managed to build up rapport with customers and made customers feel valued. I have to say, auntie did really made my day (and of course the cake!).

Black Sesame Chiffon Cake with low sugar taro paste, peanut butter and warabi mochi

This photo doesn’t do the cake justice, but I would really want to show you the inside of this goodie.

The layer of low-fat cream was really smooth and tasty. What’s best about it is that it would not make you feel stuff like ordinary cream. The black sesame and cranberry (I think) cream top were so so good!!! You could actually taste the flavor of them!

The black sesame chiffon cake is very spongy with a decent black sesame aroma. The low sugar taro paste, peanut butter and warabi mochi in the middle make a superb filling. The taro paste was very creamy, flavoured and delicious! Yet not stuffy at all. The same applied to the peanut butter paste. And I do really like the chewy warabi mochi.

The best cake I have ever had in my life so far, and I could feel all the love and effort from Jen in making the cake. I am so grateful to Jen and auntie for such a fantastic experience, and I am sure I will remember it for a very long time.

📍JenJen Bakery Love
Shop 10, 6/F, Kowloon Bay Industrial Centre, 15 Wang Hoi Road, Kowloon Bay, Hong Kong

--

--

Missy Indy
whatindyeats

Registered Social Worker | Psychologist | Hype Life | Urban Outdoor