I Am Her Tribe

(Danielle Doby, 2018)

Missy Indy
whatindyreads
2 min readJan 21, 2019

--

come as you are
the light in me
cannot always see + honor the light in you.

and it’s because of this.
the love of the process.
the love of this journey.
i keep showing up to practice.

for me,
it’s all yoga.

finding steady breath in the unknown.
the rhythmic flow when words fall off my tongue
and down onto paper.
granting myself permission to say no — without apology.
grounding my feet into the space that was created
after he left me.

all is not right.

nor wrong.

it just is.

you are worth finding
worth knowing
worth loving

you and all your one million layers

the distance of possibility

your freedom lives
in your ability to understand
that nothing is certain
yet
in the uncertainty
you hold the power
to create anything

find what ignites worlds within you

let your work
everything you create
be a direct extension of your heart space

now
more than ever
the world needs more of our light

go find what sparks it
and people who wholeheartedly
believe in it

and use it to go out + change something

ripple

when you create a difference
in someone’s life
you not only impact their life
you impact everyone influenced by them
throughout their entire lifetime

no act is ever too small

one by one
this is how to make an ocean rise

the practice | self loving

i am in love with the sound of my solitude
my alone is the greatest gift i can offer myself

the relationship i have with Self is a sacred one
for it is the soil all connection will bloom from

being in the work of belonging
teaches me that i cannot use other people
as a means of escape from my pain or my past

the work teaches me
that the key to infinite love
is when i crack my chest open wide enough
to invite myself to come back in

i do not wait on others to choose me
i take control of what it means to belong
when i choose myself, first

softness
with strength

sexual
still spiritual

independent
yet connected

deeply rooted
but free

flawed
and sacred

i am a woman of many shades
who i am is for me to define

i carry layers of imperfection

that
when woven together
create the hue
of my wholeness

--

--

Missy Indy
whatindyreads

Registered Social Worker | Psychologist | Hype Life | Urban Outdoor