What’s Good, Medium?

10/14/2016

Bridget Todd
What’s Good?
3 min readOct 14, 2016

--

Did you catch this week’s episode of Atlanta? Through a close reading of Childish Gambino lyrics, A. Jarrod Jenkins points out what you might have missed:

On its face, the latest episode of FX’s hit show “Atlanta” titled B.A.N.* addressed widespread issues of identity in America, specifically transgendered (Caitlin Jenner) and transracial individuals (Rachel Dolezal). The episode even addressed issues of police brutality and advertising that targets Black audiences. But you probably missed that the show was solely about its creator.

Sickamore pens an open letter to his future wife about the negotiable (“Seating Chart -except where you put my cousins…don’t try to play them…they’re from the Bronx…they will cut someone”) to the very non-negotiable aspects of his future dream wedding:

THIS IS HAPPENING DON’T @ ME BRO

Music (picking the DJ, live singers, band…if there’s music playing in the elevator I WANT IN…just email me your list of songs and it will be thoroughly reviewed by management)

Photographer (these moments need to be captured epicly…classic black and white…got my short list already: Van, Hannah, Rolexx, Renell, Raven….and you know I’ll have my Leica on)

Groomsmen Fits (we going out like Ocean’s 11…might wear fitteds…might wear sneakers…might bring back Versace shades..)

Bachelor Party (see ‘Groomsmen Fits’)

Sherry Tumusiime breaks down African feminism and harassment on the Internet:

A survey by the Uganda communications commission found that only 6% of women are online and only 21% of the women in Kampala reported having used the internet. What is even more shocking is that 45% of the female internet users in Kampala reported having experienced online threats. There is an urgent need to address women’s digital rights to encourage more women to go online. In this vein, I wholeheartedly agree with the feminist internet’s principle of Usage that Women and queer persons have the right to code, design, adapt and critically and sustainably use ICTs and reclaim technology as a platform for creativity and expression, as well as to challenge the cultures of sexism and discrimination in all spaces.

Carey J writes a touching open letter to her ancestors:

My ancestors. I hope you know that connecting back to my culture is really difficult. And not everyone agrees with it either. But, I’m trying my best here. I’m sure you didn’t forget, but there’s 300 tribal languages in Cameroon and a lot of them are not on the internet. Either way, I have managed to find a few cool phrases which calm me — mostly because they remind me of you.

My ancestors. Ma ding wa — I love you. Ma ding wa. Ma ding wa. Do you understand me? I’m speaking in your language .. I guess our language. And I probably sound really American, but I hope you love hearing me say this to you. Ma ding wa. When I say these words, something lights up inside me. I feel like I’m grasping on to some kind of important history; like this secret world that I never knew about. I hope this feeling is a sign to keep going, to keep learning.

--

--

Bridget Todd
What’s Good?

Host, iHeartRadio’s There Are No Girls on the Internet podcast. Social change x The Internet x Underrepresented Voices