What’s good, Medium? We’re all ‘Insecure’ edition

11/28/2016

Bridget Todd
What’s Good?
5 min readNov 28, 2016

--

Issa Rae’s new show Insecure came to a close this weekend.

Here’s the best writing from Medium writers on the critically acclaimed HBO series.

[Editor’s note: There are spoilers in this post and I haven’t actually seen the last two episodes of Insecure. The show is now ruined for me as a result of compiling these Medium pieces. See how much I love y’all?]

New to the show? NYU Local gives us a good intro:

Torn up about the imminent end of “Girls” and looking for a similar HBO show that doesn’t reek of White Feminist™ mayonnaise?

If yes, then I suggest giving “Insecure” a try.

“Insecure” is similar to “Girls” in that it follows the lives of twenty-somethings and all that life throws their way, but differs in that it actually features black characters; in fact, the show only features black characters. The show is the latest brainchild of the comic Issa Rae and “Nightly Show” host Larry Wilmore, and is partially based on Rae’s web series “Awkward Black Girl.” It follows the lives of two young black women living in LA — one of them being Rae — and is every bit as funny as you’d expect it to be. Rae’s goal with the show is to tell relatable stories that won’t appeal to a solely niche audience featuring characters who just so happen to be people of color.

Ryan M Shepard writes a letter to Lawrence, Issa’s sad sort-of boyfriend, and all the other “Lawrence” types out there:

If no one else tells you this, you’re going to kill that job interview with Headhunter and you’re going to be good. You have potential. Don’t let anyone tell you otherwise. There are a whole lot of us “ain’t shit Black men” out here, but you’re not one of them. Just keep believing and stay cool. I mean “bool”. I don’t want any problems with your neighbor. Stay strong, Lawrence.

Speaking of Lawrence, Dante breaks down why everyone on Twitter is basically mad at Lawrence or mad on Lawrence’s behalf right how:

As a result of this episode (Shit, the entire show) people have been on twitter fuming since midnight. Black women are super pissed that Lawrence found a new pussy and home so fast and black men are mad that he turned Tasha down the first time. Everyone’s opinions on this season finale of Insecure is for another thinkpiece entirely. What we can definitely take from the show, though, is that it’s about true friendship. Most people probably felt that the show was about Lawrence and Issa’s relationship, but it’s really about Issa and Molly’s. Both of them are dealing with life and not really knowing where to go, but no matter how mad they are, they’re always ready to help each other.

Nina Concepción provides a delightful gif tour of Insecure’s best facial expressions. My personal favorite is Molly’s “I Cannot Handle What You Are Saying To Me” Face:

This. Expression. Is. Everything. Molly truly cannot keep it together during most episodes, and when her friend tells her she started therapy is no exception. The look of disbelief and shock is hilarious — Yvonne Orji’s expressions are heaven.

While Molly and Issa may be currently fighting worse than they ever have, they will always have their amazing facial expressions in common.

Over at the Ringer, Allison P. Davis has a hilarious interview with everyone’s dream best friend Molly in which she lowkey tries to find actress Yvonne Orji a husband:

The show is called Insecure, so I’m guessing Issa’s character isn’t the only one battling insecurities. What is Molly wrestling with as a single woman in L.A.?

Molly wants what we all want, right? She wants to be loved. She wants to love and be loved. And in her mind, she has a perfect picture of what that looks like: It has to be this, it has to be that, it has to be this. She has her list, you know. We — every woman has a list. I don’t think lists are bad. I think lists help you navigate like through the riffraff, like if you’re like: “You know what? My list says he needs to have teeth. This man doesn’t have teeth, so I’m going to go ahead and say no, you’re not it.” That’s good. You gotta have a list, but it has to be realistic and realistic for you. I can’t have Obama on my list. He’s taken, so I gotta rework my list. I’m just joking.

What is on your list?

I have a list. I don’t think I’m going to divulge all that ’cause someone reading The Ringer might be like, “She’s talking about me. That’s how I is.”

I had to ask!

I see what you’re trying to do. I appreciate that, Allison. You’re trying to get me wifed, but everyone that reads The Ringer is going to be like, “OK, so Yvonne likes caramel apples, OK, and she wants a dude who also likes caramel apples. Well, you know what I got is some caramel apples for you, Yvonne.” I’m going to get whole gift packages of caramel apples. You’re not about to set me up!

--

--

Bridget Todd
What’s Good?

Host, iHeartRadio’s There Are No Girls on the Internet podcast. Social change x The Internet x Underrepresented Voices