I Don’t Want a 12" MacBook Air!

13" is still the best…

Jonah Chew
MacBook Stories

--

I just got a 13 inch MacBook Air 4 weeks ago.

It is my first laptop, and this machine is beautiful.

So sleek, so smooth, so sharp, so curvy, so gorgeous, so cool and so… desirable.

Before making my purchase of the 13 inch Mac Air, I tried using the 11 inch one first and found that the screen is too long and too small to my liking.

Choosing the 13 inch one is the best choice I have made.

At work, I got to use the 15 inch MacBook Pro and an iMac.

The 15 inch is kind of big and bulky, and the iMac is too wide because the magic mouse is so difficult to track. Sensitivity and motion tracking makes the navigating experience on the wide screened desktop sluggish.

I have a first gen iPad. Yes, the big bulky one that Steve Jobs first introduced the tablet to the world.

The 9.7 inch display feels magical and amazing when i first opened it.

That feeling is indescribable. Honestly. And I am someone that is not easily impressed!

When I use my iPhone, the screen is too small. But I convinced myself it is a phone. When I get to the iPad, its awesome. And on my Mac Air, 13 inch instantly feels right.

This is when it struck me.

The magical size jumps from 9.7 inch to 13 inch.

The new 2014 MacBook Air has one rumour floating around — 12 inch screen.

12 inch just won’t cut it.

While some people find that 13 inch is too big and 11 inch is too small, that is why 12 inch is the sweet spot.

Then again, I may be wrong. 12 inch may be a popular size.

It can be more compact, lighter and energy saving. Who knows?

But given during a normal usage where a laptop is placed on a table, the distance of the screen to the eye, I feel that 13 inch has a better screen space, it fills up my sight, cursor has enough space to navigate and keyboards are easy to type to.

Thank you for reading =)

Did you enjoy this short story? It would mean a lot to me if you recommend and share this. Thank you =)

--

--