№22 — Church of the Teutonic Order

Robert Maier
What’s new, Rob?
Published in
2 min readFeb 14, 2018
The church

Have I joined some cult? Have I run out of ideas? Why on earth would I take this as a weekly experience? You may ask yourself these questions and you are right: why did I? Let me explain…

Last week my project team and I decided to do something fun at night and we went go-karting. Since you do not go go-karting to come in last, I gave my best. Unfortunately, giving my best involved sacrificing bodily integrity and I suffered quite a bit. I had blisters on both hands, bruises on my back and knees and I am not sure if my ribs made it through intact.

Given that we were on a track I have never been on, with people I have never competed with, in a place where I do not live, this should count as an experience on its own. But since I did not win (despite my best efforts) and I have been go-karting before, I decided to do something else.

As I still suffered from go-karting on Saturday (we went on Tuesday), I needed a light activity. My parents were in Vienna over the weekend and we were already close to St. Stephen’s Cathedral, I decided to tick something of my Vienna sightseeing bucket list: the Church of the Teutonic Order.

The church is located right next to the cathedral (Singerstraße 7) but despite its prime location, it was empty on a Saturday around noon while hundreds of people were standing next door.

The church itself was quite nice and interesting, especially the 80 emblems of different knights on the left wall. After all, it is still a church and not that much different to others if you are not an expert (which I am definitely not). Still, if you are looking for something more unusual to do in Vienna and do not want to venture all the way to Heiligenstadt (Karl-Marx-Hof) or Schlachthausgasse (Verkehrsmuseum Remise), check it out.

For this week, I will think of something more exciting. And no, I did not join a cult (yet). Although some people think CEMS is some kind of cult…

--

--

Robert Maier
What’s new, Rob?

Enthusiastic about digitalization, data science and avid runner.