№9 — Kaspressknödel

Robert Maier
What’s new, Rob?
Published in
2 min readNov 12, 2017
What they look like from a professional (not me)

This week I had troubles to define the experience which I wanted to feature in my weekly blog. I went to the globe and esperanto museum with Philipp on Tuesday, which is worth the trip if you’ve run out of sights in Vienna. But it was not the defining thing of the week. I planned some other things this week but they did not plan out as expected so I needed to come up with something different.

First shot at shaping the knödel

I took the train home to my parents on Saturday morning and to shorten the time I bought a magazine, so I don’t have to stare at my phone for the two hours. I decided to get “Bergwelten”, which is an easy read about mountains and stuff — also has some very nice pictures of landscapes. Then, on page 120ish, it struck me: a recipe for Kaspressknödel from some cook in the Alps. I knew this was thing for the week.

I arrived home and luckily my sister Therese likes cooking as much as I do and thus we had a plan for the night. Even though we have been cooking/baking and eating all day (cookies for example), we started with our plan at 7:30pm, despite our mum complaining that we are making a mess in the kitchen for the seventh time that day. We had all the ingredients at home and after some dicing and chopping, everything came together (cheese, parsley, bread, etc.).

Therese was in charge of shaping the knödel and I was in charge of frying. We messed up the first one a bit (too thick and pan not hot enough) but after that we improved considerably. We made some soup and had one to celebrate our success. It tasted quite good for being our first time and I definitely want to make them again some time. Also, it was a better experience than the globe museum, simply because I like eating a lot. I also learned that food photography is really, really hard, especially with my phone.

Final product

Click here to see my list of past experiences and ideas what to do next. If you have a suggestion for future new experiences, feel free to comment or drop me a message.

--

--

Robert Maier
What’s new, Rob?

Enthusiastic about digitalization, data science and avid runner.