Introducing Wheel & Cross

Genevieve Hopkins
Wheel & Cross
Published in
5 min readMay 22, 2024
Wheel & Cross — a MidJourney creation by Geneviève Hopkins

Acknowledgement of Country

I would first like to acknowledge the custodians of these lands on which I work and live in Australia’s Capital Region, the lands of the Ngunnawal and Ngambri people, and I pay my deep respects to their Elders, past, present and emerging and to all First Nations across Australia. I recognise the ancient connection our First Nations have to these unceded lands and the importance of First Nations knowledge, wisdom, lore and dreaming.

The Creation of Wheel & Cross

Wheel & Cross is an online publication that explores the interplay of European history, traditions and seasons through the natural rhythm of the southern hemisphere’s seasons. It is written in an Australian context but many aspects of the seasonal traditions and celebrations can be transferred to other countries in the southern hemisphere that also experience four seasons, including New Zealand and South Africa.

As with New Zealand and South Africa, many of the traditions we celebrate here have been imported from other places and cultures, particularly from Europe. However, the seasons in the southern hemisphere are opposite to those of the northern hemisphere. While Europe experiences a winter Christmas, for example, Christmas here in Australia falls during our hot summer.

Additionally, many parts of Australia experience seasons that are different to the familiar European four seasons. In northern Australia, rather than winter, spring, summer and autumn, the seasons cycle from the wet to the dry season. Our First Nations know the seasons according to the signs they see in the environment, changes in the weather and the movement of the stars. Many recognise six seasons, and some recognise even more. We will explore some of our First Nations’ seasonal knowledge throughout this publication.

European colonisation did not just affect the population and culture of Australia but also the landscape. The original landscape in Australia did not have winter deciduous trees or many of the flowering and fruiting plants that indicate the four seasons in Europe. We now see plants from the northern hemisphere naturalised in many parts of southern Australia, which indicate the four seasons according to European tradition, although dissociated from the calendar year by six months.

About Geneviève

Geneviève reading her book ‘The Adventures of William Brambleberry’ to her two children

My ancestry comes from European roots, tracing back to the British Isles, Norway, France and French Canada. Although I spent much of my childhood living in tropical countries along the equator, and then in far north Queensland, I have a strong affinity to the old cultures, stories, folklore, folktales and traditions of my European ancestry. I love living in a part of Australia that experiences and reflects the four seasons as it resonates with my ancestral cultures. But I am acutely aware that I live on land that was stolen with traditions that have been imposed on an ancient land and people.

Wheel & Cross was created as a way for me to learn about, express and share the seasonal traditions that I love so dearly, as well as explore and increase my understanding of the seasons as they were originally experienced in the lands of my ancestral heritage.

On a deeper level, I hope that by connecting with the old seasonal traditions related to my ancestral lands of origin, I might be able to more fully engage and form a relationship with my local environment. This will also help me understand the connection First Nations have to their Country and their Dreaming (ways of knowing and being) and deepen my connection to this land I call home.

In addition to the Wheel & Cross publication and podcast, I am also a children’s book author with a love of military history, the natural world, folklore, folktales, fairy tales and myths. My first book was a children’s picture book, The Adventures of William Brambleberry: Aviator Mouse, which was independently published along with a soft toy and is now published and produced by the Military Shop as a box set. The box set, book and toy are sold across Australia through the Military Shop at www.militaryshop.com.au and in participating Australia Post offices.

The second book in the series, The Extraordinary Tale of Nancy: Spy Mouse will be published soon.

These picture books feature real life events and people from WWII and are suitable for young children (ages 3–8 y.o.). You can find out more about my books on www.verybrambleberry.com and about me at www.genevievehopkins.com.

I get much joy from researching the material for Wheel & Cross, as I do from writing stories and collecting beautifully illustrated children’s books, fairy tales and folktales. I also love spending time with my family, pottering in the garden and soaking in the natural world. I can frequently be spotted around my town taking photos of plants and mushrooms so that I can ID them on my phone apps. Mostly, I try to find magic in the little moments, making a small difference by weaving enchantment into my little corner of the world with stories, art, food and seasonal celebrations.

I’m looking forward to our journey together as we make our way through the seasons in the southern hemisphere.

Next Week

Stay tuned for next week’s Wheel & Cross article, The First Day of Winter and Holle’s Day to mark the start of winter on the 1st of June. We’ll explore the Winter Queens: the hags, witches, and goddesses of winter, as well as the Kings of Frost and Snow: Jack Frost, Old Man Winter and even Frosty the Snowman. Then we’ll explore the Danish concept of Hygge, and I’ll also share how I like to celebrate and decorate for the season.

If you prefer to listen to content rather than read, follow the Wheel & Cross Podcast on Substack, use the RSS Feed https://api.substack.com/feed/podcast/1683890.rss or find us on your favourite podcasting app.

--

--

Genevieve Hopkins
Wheel & Cross

Genevieve is a published children's book author and a collector of beautifully illustrated fairy and folktales, legends and myths.