When Desperation Meets Opportunity Chapter 16 — A #NaNoWriMo 2015 Story

Chapter 16 — Maggie

“Rodger, I can’t let you do this. You are a good guy, and I know this will end badly!” I’m pleading with him now. It is a beautiful Friday afternoon outside, but a storm is brewing inside Rodger’s apartment.

He doesn’t relent. “Just like I can’t begin to empathize with what you’ve been going through, you can’t sit there and tell me how to feel. With all that I know now, I feel awful. You bailed me out, offered your support, and all I did was aid your tormentor and screw up your best chance to get your son back. I’m sorry, but that is not something I can live with.”

The passion in his eyes and power in his voice is quite attractive. That is most certainly a strange thought for me to have at this point in time, but I can’t help thinking that if Brayden’s father was more like that, how different our lives could have been. In any case, we are here now. If we get out of this unscathed, perhaps Rodger and I might amount to something. At this point, it isn’t something that I would rule out. His defense of me at this moment is likely the most kind and generous offer I’ve ever had.

I back down. Regardless of the situation and what could happen, I need to think of Brayden. “Okay, Rodger. I’ll follow your lead. What should we do?”

“We definitely need to do this at night. His workplace is too exposed and we don’t know enough about it. However, you do know his schedule and when he goes to sleep. When do you think he’ll be going to bed?”

“In about two hours or so. Don’t you think he’ll have a lot of security systems? If this guy is as important as Lance says he is, I can’t imagine him not protecting himself.” This is a serious wrench. If we get caught before I can get my hands on the badge and escape, then Brayden is probably gone forever. Is the risk worth it? It has to be, because there isn’t anymore time.

Rodger thinks to himself for a moment. After a little bit of pacing and staring at the ceiling, he stops and looks at me. “The most important thing here is making sure you get away with the badge. That means I have to do whatever it takes to make sure there is not sight of you dealing with this. So here is the plan. We drive over to Xang’s house and wait for him to be asleep. I’ll break in and get the badge. You will stay in my car and hide in the back, under a blanket. If all goes well, we’ll drive back to my apartment and take off in your car to our next destination.” He trails off, measuring his words carefully.

“And what if it doesn’t go well?”

He reveals a faux smile. “Then you need to know when to run.”

The thought of our attempt is terrifying. Based on what I’ve went through, however, this is nothing. This is simple theft. Simple breaking and entering. With any luck, we’ll all be alive after the fact. More than I can say for the last time I needed to get something out of someone’s house. Perhaps I should have been following Doctor Yonowitz around for a few weeks. The cascading of thoughts leads me to another shocking revelation. What if Lance wanted me to fail? What if he was hoping that I wouldn’t go through with it? Was my son the main pawn in his game all along? I try and shake myself free of this. I am now more afraid than I have ever been.

Rodger notices me shivering in fear, and walks over to me. He hesitates for a moment, before leaning in and opening his arms, closing them around me and embracing me tightly. I’m not sure how to react. I can’t remember the last time I had a man, who wasn’t my father, hug me. I can’t remember the last time anyone tried to comfort me. I can’t remember actually feeling like someone truly cared about me and my wellbeing. I’m so caught up in the moment my heart is racing. However, as soon as I think I might want to take this further, Rodger pulls away, releasing me from his spell. My pulse begins to gradually slow. The fog in my mind clears.

“Be strong, Maggie, like you have been. We can get through this. We will get through this. Let’s go.” I nod appreciatively, and we leave his apartment and get into his car. Per his instructions, I head to the backseat and get low. The eventual goal will be to cover myself with a blanket, but he needs my directions first to get to Xang’s place. It isn’t that hard — take the main road out of town to County Road G, then turn right and follow it for about 10 minutes. Boom, you are there. And, in no time flat, we are.

“Stay low and stay quiet. If he has cameras on the outside of the house, they could pick you up. We can’t afford that. Under no circumstances leave this car. Please tell me you’ll stay here?” He sounds as serious as ever.

“I’m too scared to do much moving. I don’t think you have to worry. Please hurry, and please be safe.” With that, I hear a door open and a door close. Rodger is off. Now I’m stuck in wait and see mode.

Left idle, my thoughts wander. What happens if the police catch him here? Won’t they find me in the car? What should I say then? Of course, it is always possible that Xang is highly dangerous, and he might kill Rodger. What then? How will I know if I need to drive away? Worst of all — if this fails, how else could I get this badge? The highlight reel of horrors continues to play through my mind over and over. The sensory depravation is getting to me. How long has it been? Minutes? Hours? I peek at my phone under the covers. It has been less than five minutes.

Like clockwork, an alarm begins blaring. Panic sets in. Is Rodger okay? Is he going to make it? I’m not sure how I can have any emotion left for worrying, but I have it. Every second he is in that house is one second closer to us getting caught and ending our mission well before completion. Once again, I find myself clinging to some higher power, praying, pleading and bargaining for the life of my son and Rodger. I don’t care about myself anymore. Without my son, I am nothing, and if something happens to Rodger because he is helping me? That would be unbearable.

Through the blaring, I hear footsteps, and the front door open. The car starts quickly, and the wheels make a loud squealing noise as the vehicle makes a fast escape. I hear Rodger panting in the driver’s seat as the car continues to accelerate. For the first time, I faintly hear sirens. And they are getting closer.

“Rodger are you okay? Did you get it?” I lift up the blanket slightly to look at him. He is still breathing heavily.

“Barely. He saw me. The cops are on us. Here, take this.” After saying that, he reaches his hand back toward me with something in his grasp. I grab it. Here it is! The badge! The sirens are getting closer now.

“Oh my God Rodger, oh my God! I can’t believe you got this! Okay, what now, what now?” My panic is forcing me to speak a mile a minute. I find myself breathing as hard as Rodger. As I peer out from underneath the covers, I now see sirens faintly dancing on the ceiling. Blood pumps through me ever faster. If this ramps up anymore, I may just end up in Cardiac Arrest.

“There is no escaping this. We will get caught. We have one cop car behind us, closing in fast. They probably have two cops inside. I’m taking us as close as I can get back to my apartment, where your car is. I’m going to ditch this on the side of the road and run for it into the forest. Listen carefully for both officers to give chase, and then you need to make your move and head back toward the apartment and get away. You have to make it!” He is sacrificing himself for me. I can’t thank him enough for this. Rodger is creating the opportunity for me to get away. Here’s hoping I don’t waste it.

It feels like we are driving well over the speed limit, faster than I’ve ever taken one of my own vehicles. It doesn’t matter, as the sirens are so loud, they are practically coming from within this car. Suddenly, the car violently swerves and slows to a complete stop. I’m forced from my position up against the driver and passenger seats before falling between the back set and the two front ones. The shock of the hit sends pain through my body. I don’t think I’m too seriously hurt, but achiness persists all over.

I recover myself with the blanket, but keep my eyes out. Rodger looks shaken, up, and he slowly raises his head off the steering wheel, rotating his head from side to side to remove any temporary cobwebs. I see him take a deep breath, say “Goodbye, and good luck Maggie. Hope to see you again with Brayden someday.” With that, he shoves his door open and runs off into the night.

I stay still as I hear voices shouting after him. At least two, and it sounds like several sets of feet running towards the forest on the other side of the highway. Here is my chance. I slowly remove the blanket, and sit up in the back seat, looking at all of the windows. I see the officers disappear into the woods. Behind me is the police car. Only one car is back there at the moment. Both doors are open, and it appears empty. I open the passenger side back door slowly, and slide out. To be as discreet as possible, I simply leave the door open.

By my estimation, based on what is around us, I am at least a ten minute walk from town. Better start walking. It is mostly dark now, so seeing is a challenge. Thankfully, I am close enough to see the lights from town, so that helps guide me on. My focus turns to Rodger as I make my way back. Why would he do this for me? All because he felt somewhat responsible? Because I bailed him out? This was an incredible act of bravery to risk another trip to jail. To give up his car and his life plans all for me. Never have I felt so worthy and so worthless at the same time. I don’t feel like I am the person anybody should take risks for. Yet, Rodger did. Maybe one day I’ll get the chance to express my gratitude. Feel free to take that any way you want.

It is a warm night, so sweat has collected in close to every possible spot by the time I make it to my vehicle. That has to be the longest I’ve walk in quite a while. I get in the driver’s seat of my car, turn the key, and leave the premises as fast as I can. No need to hang around for the police to search his apartment, if they choose to do that. My plan now is to drive back to my apartment, grab some cash, and figure out what the next step is.

As I drive, I take a look at the badge. Xang Ti. Senior Strategist. Ming Security and Defense. 1516 North State Street, Chicago, Il. I’ve never been to Chicago. Is that where I’m headed next. Hopefully Lance has some answers for me. What was the reason for all of this?

Finally, I arrive back at my lonely apartment. I head up, and given how sweaty I am, I decide to do a quick shower and change clothes. Not knowing how long I’ll be gone, I grab a bag and begin to pack. Inside that bag, I decide to stuff a few thousand dollars. You never know when that might come in handy. Since I don’t know where I’ll eat or where I’ll stay, that should keep all of my options open.

After that, I decide it is time to call Lance. It doesn’t take him long to answer, even as late as it is.

“Well, hello Maggie. It sounds like you had an exciting night. Tell me you have good news?” His arrogance drives me crazy. I would love nothing more than the chance to kill this man right now.

“The only good news would be if Brayden was with me right now. But, for you, I have your stupid badge. What should I do next?” My impatience with this game is clearly showing in my voice and my body. The whole experience is taking a toll. I only hope that we can bring this to an end soon.

“Very good, Maggie! I see your even enlisted your friend, Rodger. You know, he was actually quite a chance find, being the perfect opportunity for you. Well, in any case, you’ve done well with task three. Task four is even simpler. I need you to drive to Chicago. You’ll be needing to give that card to an associate of mine. His name is Jim. I’ll give you more info on Sunday.”

He hangs up, and I am left alone in my apartment. Sunday, I am headed to Chicago to meet a man named Jim. That can’t be a good sign. I have bad luck with guys named Jim.

--

--

Josh Gauthier
When Desperation Meets Opportunity — A #NaNoWriMo 2015 Story

Husband. Tech Coach. Gamer. Google Education Trainer & Certified Teacher. Troubleshooter. Still trying to figure this whole teaching thing out. Pun lover.