What it Feels Like to Ride a Motorcycle

Riding is one of the greatest joys in life. But you need to be okay with the emotional state it puts you in.

Stefan Von Imhof
When I travel

--

Motorcycle riding is a combination of exhilaration, fear, relaxation, and pleasure that changes you forever. It’s physical & emotional pleasure, with a layer of anxiety & adrenaline.

If you’ve ever wondered what it’s like to ride one, read on…

The Physical.

Both your hands and feet are always busy.

This might sound pretty obvious to any rider, but before I started riding, my entire knowledge of motorcycle riding was pretty much based on Excitebike and other video games. (Twist the throttle, make a turn, how hard could it be, right?) So when I realized how much your hands and feet are working while you ride, it kind of took me by surprise. For the most part, there is no such thing as an “automatic” motorcycle; all motorcycles are manual. Your left hand is working the clutch and the turn signal, your right hand is working the front brake, your right foot is working the rear brake, and your left foot is working the gears up & down. It’s a lot more work than it seems.

NOTE: As of July 11, 2020, I’ve moved this full essay as a guest post on amaryroad.com. Finish reading about what it’s like to ride a motorcycle.

--

--

Stefan Von Imhof
When I travel

Head of Product @Flippa — Where businesses are bought & sold. I also tweet about cities+travel. My personal brand is all over the map. Hakuna matata.