Day 100: An end

Brennan Jernigan
When I Was Mormon
Published in
1 min readJan 23, 2018

Left early this morning, driving it in one-go from my friend’s home in Brigham City. My Toyota Camry packed up with literally everything I own (save for a few boxes I left with my parents).

Heading west now on I-90, over the floating bridge, I take in hills and trees and houses that rise as if from lakes, mountains in a far-off distance. All of it set against a blue-purple sky on its way, imperceptibly, to darkness.

From I-90 onto I-5 now, through Downtown and its skyscrapers, a newly discovered KEXP playing through my speakers.

And then I’m peeling off the freeway onto Lake City. Putting it into fourth, then third, I feel every shift a struggle, this car of mine weighed down by all it’s loaded with, all that it carries from another life. But it holds on, continues on, and so do I.

(This is THE FINAL DAY of a 100-day project. For more about When I Was Mormon, read the introductory post. To access older posts, visit latest stories and scroll down.)

--

--