No other option…

Megan Elizabeth
When to Jump
Published in
2 min readMar 22, 2017

--

I have no memory of doing anything but art … at 4 years old, my grandmother gave me stacks of paper and just let me create. We called it “projects”. It was easy to enjoy doing something with my hands and I was always caught daydreaming or doodling.

I went to college, but always wondered what it would been like to go to an art school. However, I got to study abroad and have so many cool experiences around the world instead, so it ended up being a win-win situation. I thought that art was never a viable career option and never imagined doing this for a living. I let my doubt sort of take over instead of fighting really hard, initially.

I had to fight long for this passion. I was a high school teacher for nine years prior to changing paths. I loved teaching so much! At the time, teaching felt like the “right” thing to do, but there was always a nagging voice in the back of my head asking if I wanted to try to be an artist.

Unofficially, it began five years ago. I started an Etsy shop and began networking a little bit in my area. My schedule for my art was one hour per week max and I was barely able to manage it plus teaching and motherhood of a new baby without life getting in the way. Then, slowly I couldn’t stop. I remember taking a day off work once just to paint all day. I was gradually letting the art seep back into my life, and it was AWESOME!! I couldn’t turn it off and I was happier than ever!

So then, almost 2 years ago, we had this big chance to change our lives completely as a family and instead of doing the “mature” thing, I decided to leave teaching — a career that I loved, with kids that I adored — to JUMP. It was absolutely terrifying, I was so anxious, I felt guilty and nervous and worried… and I am so grateful I had the chance. Shout out to my husband for pushing me (not literally) over the cliff and helping me Jump.

I don’t ever think it will wear off. I am eternally grateful, excited and passionate about my life as an artist. I wake up passionate and understand that many would kill for this chance get to follow their dreams while many get clouded with everything else.

If you love what you are doing then that should be what you are doing.

When to Jump is a collection of people, places, and ideas relating to when to go do what you really want to go do. For more stories like this, sign up for our occasional newsletter here. You can follow When to Jump on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.

--

--