The Women’s March and The Progress it Will Make Through America.

Women, one day will run the world, Might not be today, might not be tomorrow but it will be one day!!

Leslie Tarango
WHEN WOMEN SPEAK BACK
4 min readJan 30, 2017

--

Since when did girls get stuck with the dirty work? Why are we forced to be at home? Who made those rules? As hard as I try to convince myself that women are made to be at home because that’s how I was raised, I cannot accept it. I have asked almost everyone, from adults to children, from professors to priests, who made that rule? Where can I find it? No one ever seems to know. Well since it’s not a rule then maybe we should end it.

This is something that not only I believed but 20 thousand other people believe as well while protesting in the women’s March on January 21 2017 in Orange County. This is not including the marches all around the world. This was my first time protesting for this march. It was interesting because I didn’t think it was going to be a big protest in Santa Ana since it’s a small town, BUT IT AMAZED ME to see how many women and men came to join the march. Yes MEN!! Some men came to join the march as well. Coming from a family who’s super religious (not the once a week religious kind but the everyday of my life type of religious kind) I never thought I was going to rebel against my religion. (In my religion I was told that women have to stay at home, stay quiet, never complain and except the fact that women have no rights.) Yet I was not alone I had seen that many of my friends who attend mass with me were also in the protest. I realized in that moment, that we are all in the same position.

I am recently taking a class on women and culture were we discussed evens that women have done in order to get there voice heard. We also talk about present events and how women’s rights have evolved over the years. One of the articles that was given to the class, talks about how all women are living in a cage. The image of the cage helps convey one aspect of the systematic nature of oppression. Another is the selection of occupants of the cages, and analysis of this aspect also helps account for the invisibility of the oppression of women. My pears had discussed in class that difference between the different cages. One cage can be made of gold and the women in the gold cage are put on a pedestal while the other women who are in silver dirty cages feel like they are in a jail cell were not only do they not feel welcome but they feel cold and disrespected. The women who are in this kind of situation feel like they are not seen as humans and those are the women that are fighting back.

However who says we need to be at men’s level? Who says we need to be equal to men? Men are not the best roll models. People who usually are looked up to are usually people in power and the people who are usually in power are men. Our current person in power is Donald Trump. He is the 45 president of the United States of America. Yet he is a horrible person, who say things like hold women by the pussy. Insulting women and making women feel uncomfortable. Insulting minority and making them feel like they are lesser then different races. With this said why do women have to be equal to men? Why can’t women be better than men? In another article that I read from class said I noticed that the anti-feminist descriptions have diminished but public life and above all political life continues to be dominated by competition between men for which while society tends toward a feminization of its self on accounts of the increasing presents of women the women who aspire to participate in political life are asked to subordinate themselves or become masculinized. Women in order to be in power have to be masculine. They cannot show any emotion or weakness, yet a stereotype of a women is that they are weak. They are all emotional. America those needs to be like that. America needs to be emotional and companionate. I was reading an article in the orange county register and one person from the crowd put. “Make America Compassionate.” She was also asked by the writer of the article why she put those word on the banner and she said “There’s been a lot of discussion about taking away programs that help humanity and I’m terrified that a lot of people are going to suffer,” Is this were America is heading? Is America becoming cruel and human less? Well now with this new president hopefully America doesn’t become inhuman. The only thing America can do now is hope that these four years pass by fast with progress of moving forward and not moving backwards.

--

--