Why Oblivion Is A Privilege

An article discussing how being unaware of oppression is a privilege. Written by a black college woman currently accumulating debt.

Mailan Smith
WHEN WOMEN SPEAK BACK
5 min readMar 4, 2017

--

As a black, young, working class, college woman I am not allowed to be unconscious. I am not allowed to be uneducated about racism, sexism, capitalism, and all the other “isms” that will affect me on the day to day. Not only do I have to be aware of it, I have to then decipher how I am going to maneuver through all of these systems to achieve the level of success I want.

Groups of people and individuals who are not forced to directly interact or give adequate thought for oppression are at an advantage. But they are also at a disadvantage since ignorance and being unenlightened is a form of oppression and makes you a victim in some instances. Overall, I think being placed in a privileged group and not having to consider race, sexism, or classism is a blessing.

Why I Can’t Act Like Race & Racism Doesn’t Exist

I’m black. Simple. As Barbara Smith so eloquently states, “Racism affects all of our lives, but it is only white women who can “afford” to remain oblivious to these effects. The rest of us have had it breathing or bleeding down our necks.” Everyday I can go on Twitter and find a hashtag of another black or brown life lost to police brutality. Everyday I have to hope my father, brothers, cousins, uncles, friends, do not come in contact with a white officer who finds their mahogany skin “threatening.” Everyday I pray my father can get the promotion he has interviewed for two times prior; and is over qualified, but has not got the position because his interview seemed “too rehearsed” and his department “wanted to go with someone of another race.” Not having to think about your race and how society perceives on a daily basis is a luxury. White members of society have a choice whether or not they want to enlighten themselves and join the discourse about racism. People of color are force fed through experience.

Why I Can’t Act Like Sexism & Patriarchy Don’t Exist

I am a black, young woman. I must educate, realize, and deal with the oppression I have simply because I am a woman. Upon college and taking women’s studies classes, I can admit I did not think much about the idea of feminism and how I fit into the system of patriarchal power. I may have known a bit about gender roles and sexual violence, but I was quite oblivious to women’s rights issues.

I did not think much about it because I had not been affected.

It took watching the Hunting Ground — a documentary film about rape culture on college campuses and the injustices millions of young women faced because we live in a society more concerned about campus ratings and reputations rather than convictions for crimes committed against women. After watching the documentary, I was enlightened. With my enlightenment I also became extremely more cautious and fearful of sexual violence on my college campus. Although being aware of sexism in this case is beneficial, I cannot deny that being oblivious to violence was not easier to cope with on a regular basis.

Ignorance was bliss.

Andrea Canaan writes about a similar situation in “Browness”:

“ The ever-growing intellect was an additional burden because the ability to think allows me to look at, if not truly see, options and truth.”

Canaan gives insight into how consciousness can also be a negative thing, because the truth is not always pretty or helpful towards your own situation. Although men are surely victims of sexual violence, a vast number of men generally do not think about gendered violence because they are typically not the victims of such crimes. I, however, do not have that privilege.

Why I Can’t Act Like Classism & Capitalism Doesn't Exist

Along with being a young, black woman, I am also a broke college student. Not only am I thousands of dollars in debt (so I need to be educated on how capitalism works), I also have to understand how classism will play against me and how much class will separate me from other women, and other people of color. For instance, differences in race becomes a conflict in “white feminism” but another factor is that that elite groups of women have completely different values and experiences than lower class women. White, upper class women are typically concerned with equality with men but are unconcerned about poverty, inclusiveness, or wage gaps between white women and women of color. Doris Davenport in “The Pathology of Racism: A Conversation With Third World Wimmin”, further critiques white feminists when she explains, “Rather than seek solidarity with wimmin of color, they pull rank within themselves. Rather than attempt to understand our cultural and spiritual differences, they insist on their own limited and narrow views.” Classism further sparks conflict considering affluent women also have more power, resources, and money to highlight their topics of concern while other groups’ issues are left unheard. I am not in the position to ignore wage gaps or turn my head to poverty considering I am not that far from it. To be oblivious to the struggles of lower class people is not ethical or humanitarian by any means, but it is a liberty many do not have access to.

Last Remarks

Overall, being oblivious to oppression is a freedom — mentally, physically, and emotionally. Oblivion does not create well-rounded, thoughtful, morally high individuals but it is nice to not know or not have to feel the effects of racism, sexism, and classism on a continual basis. It is a privilege to be privileged. However, my argument is not to say that there is not great power in being conscious and aware of injustices. Pat Parker of “Revolution: It’s Not Neat or Pretty or Quick” reassures us that revolutions must be led by people that are oppressed because we know struggle, we understand how these systems work, and we have the drive to fight for equality. Ignorance is bliss, but there is strength in knowledge.

--

--

Mailan Smith
WHEN WOMEN SPEAK BACK

UCR Graduate B.A. Creative Writing. Enjoy my thoughts.