Is Beyonce a feminist?

Samantha Bartz
WHEN WOMEN WRITE
Published in
2 min readMay 11, 2016

In light of Beyonce’s release of Lemonade as well as Bell Hooks recent article critiquing the visual album, I have been asking myself is Beyonce a feminist? If you would of asked me this question three years ago, before I had begun my time at Cal State LA and before the release of Lemonade, I would've said without hesitation: Yes! She totally empowers woman! Girl Power!

But I am over a year into my education at Cal State LA and over 5 years into my higher education, and I have gained so much real-world knowledge about what it really means to be a feminist. And after all is said and done I would say that no, she isn’t a feminist. Now, the beehive may get mad at me for this and don’t get me wrong, I still bump some Beyonce when I’m driving. But when I really look at her career, life and more specifically Lemonade, even though it is powerful and real as hell. Ultimately, I think the motivation to make this album came from the desire for money and not much else.

Everything leading up to the release of the album, the album itself and everything since has been nothing but tactical moves to up publicity, sales and most of all money. The album was a capitalist move not a feminist one. Like I said, that doesn’t mean she isn’t speaking certain truths, or doesn’t talk about things of controversy and value (things that need to be talked about). However, like bell hooks said, though women may feel empowered as they watch it they must understand that the album is not effecting real change in the patriarchy. It’s saying that in order to get over a wrongdoing you must also do wrong. That you can accept mistreatment and abuse as long as there is “reconciliation”. These are not feminist beliefs, in my opinion.

So even though I may jam out to some Bee, I’m glad that my time at school has given me a different kind of awareness to what feminism is. It isn’t just “Girl Power!” It’s about recognizing where the inequality is and the best ways to effect true change, which usually doesn’t come from “reconciliation”. But instead from making your way into everyday patriarchal situations and making your voice heard. Which, we may think is what Beyonce has done with Lemonade, but I disagree.

--

--