#mymotherthehousewife

brenda perez
WHEN WOMEN WRITE
Published in
3 min readMay 11, 2016

Dear Mother,

Today I sit and wonder.

Who am I?

Daughter.

Sister.

Lover.

The daughter of a warrior

The daughter of a loving caring mother.

Mother, all my memories of you I see

In a kitchen making my father’s favorite dishes

In the laundry room folding clothes while your hips moved side to side to the sound of music playing loudly throughout the house.

I close my eyes and I could see your smile every time I would come home from school.

You would always be cleaning something.

If it wasn’t the dining room table it would be the plate I ate from that morning.

I could hear your laughter bouncing off the walls of your perfectly cleaned home.

Your home.

Joke after joke taking pride in your work.

Your house shined the brightest along with your heart.

Your pride.

Your power.

Empowered me

To become the woman I am today.

You tell me everyday, how proud you are of being my mother

But mother let me tell you, how proud I am of being your daughter.

The daughter of a warrior

The daughter of a hard working powerful woman.

You have shown me strength every time you wiped down the kitchen counter because every time you did

you held your head a little higher.

You have shown me love every time you kissed my father and would remind him to take shower.

Thank you for a great example.

Thank you for being you.

For allowing me to see what a beautiful mother, wife, and human being you are.

Because today I could face the world with that same power you hold.

You take ownership of your own self by being your best version of a mother and wife.

And that’s fine.

I wont be a house wife because that’s not my pride.

But let me tell you that my self wouldn’t be, if it wasn’t for you.

In whatever I do I hope to be as bad ass as you.

You, the mother.

You, the wife.

You, the woman.

Because I am an extension of you.

You, that I love.

Happy Mother’s Day!!!

My mother represents herself as a house wife. She loves cleaning. She’s an amazing cook. She’s also very creative and loves to decorate her home. As the growing feminist that I am, I’m always learning and questioning everything that surrounds me. And my ideals are always subject to change. The main question I would ask myself was what it really meant to be a feminist. Was my mom not a feminist because she represented herself as a house wife? Was I a true feminist because I let my armpit hair grow for a year? What is a true feminist? My whole life I saw my mother working around the house always taking care of her family. I never saw my mother as being oppressed because she was a house wife. In fact my mother always had a smile on her face when she cleaned her home or made us dinner. I asked her once; do you feel oppressed in your own home? She said “Never, I take pride in my home and in taking care of my family. This is what makes me feel feminine. It’s what empowers me. It’s what makes me happy.” Then and there I realized. Hey, my mother is a feminist!!! My mother is a bad ass woman. She is making her own choice. This is what she wants to be doing, let her do it. (And trust me she does it good) There’s nothing wrong with the way she chooses to represent herself. Every woman is allowed to be and do whatever they feel is correct for themselves. She shouldn’t judge them. Taking ownership of your true self representation and not hiding from it but enhancing it, to me makes a true feminist. To love one another and yourself instead of competing makes a true feminist. To stand up for what you believe is right, makes a true feminist. My mother is a feminist. I am a feminist. What do you think is a true feminist?

--

--