Travelling in a wheelchair

André Fernandes
Where am I?
Published in
2 min readAug 22, 2017

Plan a trip, when accessibility is mandatory, is a challenging task. Based on my interest towards this topic and on researches I have done about it, I recommend on this post some apps that can make your life easier when travelling in a wheelchair.

Planning a trip using a wheelchair

Wheelmap: free online map of wheelchair-accessible places, available in 22 languages for Android, iOS and WP10. Users can tag places and share photos.

Getaboutable: a platform where users can share accessible services and activities around the world.

Curbfree: travel blog written by Cory Lee, who travels around the world with his wheelchair. He shares travel tips suited for wheelchair users.

AXS Map: a crowd-sourced tool for sharing reviews on the wheelchair accessibility of businesses and places. A community for people who care about accessibility. Currently under construnction!

--

--

André Fernandes
Where am I?

My purpose: help others to discover different places, cultures and perspectives! Born in Brazil to be a global citizen!