I Pray for Genuine Peace

Ghida Sinno
Where I Live
Published in
2 min readOct 29, 2022

I was born in the West Bank’s historically significant Palestinian city of Nablus. My early years in Nablus were challenging and frightening due to the Second Intifada. I remember waking up to the sound of bombs and gunfire. I would sneak out during the curfew to go to my grandparents’ house to get bread because the city was under military lockdown and we weren’t allowed access to any markets. We were forced to leave our hometown because the violence of the Second Intifada completely ruined Nablus. In 2004, we relocated to Ni’lin, a Palestinian town outside Ramallah. Despite the years, I still feel the tug of nostalgia for my old city. I miss the old houses, the bustling markets, the sound of my neighbors and friends, and the smell of fresh roses.

Our first year in Ni’lin was difficult. Following our relocation, Israel built a wall in Ni’lin, annexing a large portion of our land and farms. As a result, civilians in my town protested the Israeli army, and the army fired live ammunition, rubber-coated steel bullets, and tear gas at those unarmed civilians. One particular incident that affects me the most is the murder of our neighbor’s child. It is not easy living in a place where the memories of people and kids being killed are always with us. Yet, I persevere because I’ve begun to appreciate the beauty of my new home in Ni’lin. The smell of sage, mint, basil, and jasmine, as well as the chirping of birds, make me feel as though I’m in my own little paradise. The best thing about this paradise is the strong bond all of us have with one another. We are one big family who always supports each other. My other favorite part is Taboon, an oven with a very pleasant smell that pervades the entire area. For fun, I occasionally go shopping at the mall and walk with my daughters to the park. I also visit Bethlehem, Hebron, and Nablus and enjoy traveling around the West.

Even if conditions are not favorable in Ni’lin, I am happy and grateful for what I have. Living in Ni’lin, as well as my family and friends, have taught me patience, Nablus’s history, traditional foods, and most importantly, compassion. Living in Ni’lin inspires me to aspire for freedom, justice, security, equality, love, and peace in my community and the rest of the world. No one, near or far, is justified in hurting innocent people. Humanity and mercy are qualities our planet desperately needs. I pray for genuine peace to be shared in return for love and freedom.

--

--