Smile You’re in Gaza

Ghida Sinno
Where I Live
Published in
4 min readOct 29, 2022

I was born in 1998 in the Palestinian Khan Yunis Camp located south of the Gaza Strip. I had a good childhood and as a kid, I thought the life we lived was normal. When I got older I realized our circumstances are not normal. My people struggle to live a good life. But Allah blessed each of us with a good brain to think positively and remain optimistic. I harness these good vibes and do what I can to survive.

The Gaza Strip is 350 square kilometers. It is a crowded, beautiful place. The buildings are close together and I can hear my neighbors converse with one another. The children play in the streets because there is nowhere else to play. I see children make soccer balls out of paper or cloth because we don’t have anything else. Cats and dogs roam the neighborhoods and birds sing in the morning, blessing me with calm and positive vibes to start the day. The beach is close and I enjoy sitting by the shore with my friends or by myself. I like to meditate and visit the cafes on the shoreside. In Gaza, the land allows for all types of plants. In the summer we get watermelon, peaches, corn, mango, kiwi, banana, and apples. In the winter, oranges and lemons are common. Before I sleep, I like to create dreams. I imagine a scenario in my mind I wish to become a reality. I create and positively interact with my dreams to cultivate good vibes. I like doing this before sleeping because it makes me happy.

The Gaza Strip is also a dark place, but it inspires me to make a difference and bring light to the people who live here and are affected by the conflict. I am a leader and I strive to contribute to my community despite the circumstances. I specialize in English literature and I like to volunteer at institutions where I assist with leadership training and workshops for Palestinians. I give speeches on behalf of my community and talk about what we live through with the goal of combatting the stereotypes that dehumanize Palestinians and label us as terrorists. I do public speaking to change this narrative. I have participated in many activities related to politics and elections and the necessity of implementing them because it gives our youth a glimmer of hope for a better future. If there is youth participation in local council elections or in legislative and presidential elections, we have a chance of making a difference. I participate in political activities supported by civil society institutions to build community and solve some of the problems we suffer from, such as environmental and societal problems. I hope to motivate a culture of discussion and that someday the world will positively talk about and learn from me.

The occupation has created several barriers for Palestinians. I cannot travel to the other side of occupied Palestine and it is my dream to visit that part of my land. It hurts that my counterparts in the West Bank can travel but I cannot. The occupation has created geographical discrimination between Palestinians in the Gaza Strip, the West Bank, and those living in 1948 areas. The bottom line is that: WE ARE ALL PALESTINIAN. This division is the problem and it is exactly what the occupation wants to achieve. I believe Palestinians must unite, love, and accept one another because we are not enemies. We are friends. That’s the first step to a better Palestine. Once we achieve this, we will be strong enough to face the occupation.

The best things about the Gaza Strip are the people, the mental fortitude, the love, and the nationality which fills me with pride. Palestinians are unique and we are special because we are able to make something out of nothing. People make their own living without any support. We get creative to solve the problems in the Gaza Strip, and we create opportunities that we don’t get from the larger community. When something bad happens my friends and I say, “Smile, you are in Gaza.” We say it when we want to scoff at the situation imposed on us. This is our way of saying we must not grieve. We are in Gaza and this reality is imposed on us. Therefore, there is no need to be sad and resentful of what we see and of what happens to us. The phrase is a satirical comedy. Allah gave me a life that I have to work for, enjoy, and be proud of even though it is small. Even when I am in pain, I must be kind at all times. I do not accept being sad for a long time because I must strive to spread positive vibes for myself and my community. So, I smile because I am in Gaza.

--

--