Trauma Tales, Vol. 1, Issue 1

April Horinek
Where Life Meets the Sea
7 min readMay 9, 2024

--

A middle-aged woman with purple and blue hair, blue eyes, and a bright smile.

This is my story.
This is my truth.
My story is valid. My pain is valid. My trauma is valid.
I am valid.
I am enough, and I am a survivor, and I am thriving in a world that is so unkind.

You. You are also valid.
Your story is valid. Your pain is valid.
You. Are. Valid.
You are enough. You are a survivor and you are doing the best you can with what you have.

My story is not mine alone. It is beautifully unique, but at the same time…my stories, my truths, echo throughout the world. My experiences are mine, but I’m not the only one who’s had that experience.

Think about that. We are all a collection of shared experiences.

Anyway. Tonight I have a lot to unpack.

Yes, I’ve talked about a lot of this shit with my therapist, but honestly…I find my peace through writing. If my story can make a single person feel like their story is valid-that their pain is valid-then isn’t isn’t it my calling as a storyteller of this world to put those words out into the universe?

Welcome to Trauma Tales, Volume 1, Episode 1.

--

--

April Horinek
Where Life Meets the Sea

Full time cottage witch, mom, & author. I'm spinning stories and talking about our life; autism, family, adventure, trauma, homesteading.