The Party Animal : Basak and Sergio

Middle Distance Runner
FUN : Tales of a Host
6 min readJun 27, 2015

--

We closed our door one more time because we got exhausted by the fast-paced of travelers coming to our house, but we realize, our house seems to be even quieter without all these travelers. Just to give you an idea, we leave home at 8.45 am to work and arrive at 9. We will get home either at 6 or 9 pm, depends on who’s taking which shift. One shift last for 8 hours+1hours of rest so that makes 9hours.

Usually I take the morning shift, lasting from 9 am to 6pm, while Imeh loves taking the afternoon shit shift, starting from 1pm to 9 pm. I’d love to get an afternoon shift too but sometimes people in our Headquarters are looking for me to speak so like it or not, I have to get the morning shift.

A girl named Baṣak spoke to me about her desire to stay with us for two days. She brought along her husband, a Spanish man named Sergio. I said yes quickly to them and invited them to our house (mostly because Baṣak is a Turkish, and I wanted to whip up my Turkish again, since it has been long forgotten because I broke up with my ex the Turk). It was a lousy day waiting for them and I was sick, so I thought they’d come immediately.

It turned out the husband ditched my suggestion of taking taxi from Airport to my house, then take the busway instead and they spent two hours wandering around my housing area, until one of the passerby appointed them my house. When we first moved to this house, we went to our community leader and told him that we will live with so many changing traveler, therefore we wanted to let him know that if there are any wandering foreigner that doesn’t look familiar to them (we also have foreigner neighbours here, a lot of them), it’s better to appoint our house to them. When they came, they were both smelly and looked extremely exhausted. Well, no wonder. They were so hungry but we also had no food in the house, so I gave them my motorbike keys and off they go to find food. They returned with success, ate some local food along the way.

Cheers for the food!

That night we took them to our favorite angkringan, because most of the employees there are familiar with us and also they have a nice selections of food for us to choose and eat, and it’s all not too pricey which we like.

Preying for the food! (Ignore my tongue and erisa’s sexy lips)

At the evening, they asked us for a nice beer in a nice pub, so we take them to our favorite pub, The Beatles. We are frequently going there, mostly because its calm atmosphere is so good to help us think, and also the servers are all very nice and welcoming.

We played uno with stupid punishment. Whoever lose had to do stupid shit the first winner told them to do. I was soooooooooooooooo lucky that night, because Sergio was aiming the punishment at me, but ended up winning, like me, resulting in Imeh, Erisa, and Baṣak had to swallow the punishment pills. They had to dance and lick a spoon, sometimes drink beer straight from the bottle, right on the pedestrian area, where it’s publicly displayed for everyone to see. The night ended with us finding out that they are a fun guys to be with.

First morning, Imeh and Erisa off to fetch our individual clients, we are having a side business managed by the three of us. It’s more to practice our ability in guiding, knowing more than just our usual friends and also to earn a little electricity money. So when I woke up, Sergio was like, “Are you hungry? Im really hungry, lets walk somewhere to find food” so we walked to my favorite morning food stall, the nasi kuning. The seller is a nice mother with her daughters by her side helping her. We talked about many things, he showed me how he got so much money that later we called “black money”. Not illegal money, but it’s mostly about tipping tips and tricks. We walked to motor rental and got ourselves a nice automatic motor. They went off to temples and I slept some more that day.

Typical madness everytime you listen to ‘I’m an albatraoz’

They arrived during the evening and told us many stories of how they got lost in villages in Magelang and asked us if they can eat any food, so we took them to eat snacks first at Kota Gede. Sadly we found nothing much, because it’s almost their closing time. After they ate, Sergio asked us what are we want to do. I said, up to you, but he said, “no no. you know if I have a guest at home, I will take them to do things that I like to do, instead of waiting for them to tell us what they want to do. I like beer, so I take them to drink beers” Imeh and I laughed so we told them that we like karaoke. He said, “Yeah why not? We can do it” so off we rode our bike to a karaoke place.

“Whoa, is this like a private karaoke?” asked Sergio and Baṣak. We nodded happily and after ordering a room, we went to our room. After teaching them how to operate the karaoke machine, we danced, sang, yell nonstop until clock showed the eleven pm.
“This is so cool” Sergio told us. Baṣak explained. “In Barcelona, if you want to do a karaoke, you have to do it in an open bar, because there are no private karaoke like you have in here. That’s why we like it here, we can sing badly but no one really cares but us and us alone”. We went home tired and laughing, still, looking over our pictures and videos of us jumping and singing along to the music.

Third day, they went to Prambanan. Not much to say, but during the evening, they took us to try the new Mexican food close to our house, Papricano. It was good but a little overpriced. Ended up in The Beatles again, this time Sergio was a bit drunk and told us to sing, but we told him we will sing only if he sings firsts. He did! He went on stage with Moyes, one of the owner of Beatles who likes to play guitar (I like the way he plays guitar btw). He painfully sang Someone like You by Adele, which had me, Imeh, and Baṣak laughed uncontrollably. We didn’t sing on stage though, my voice was croaky and Imeh… I don’t know what her reason was.

When we came home, I felt a little sad because I have come to realize that these crazy two are going to continue their trip to Bromo yesterday. In the morning we hugged each other very tight because it was the final goodbye, and I don’t know when we are going to see them again. To have them in our house was a joy after misfortunate that we had when the jerks came into our house.

What Imeh thinks about Sergio : — funny — Ice breaker
- Adventurer
- Eat a lot!
- Party Animal
- Beer drinker
- Shisha Smoker
What Imeh thinks about Basak : — Lovely and lively
- Good to talk to
- Enthusiastic
- Unafraid to try new things
- Very kind, well both are very kind to us.

Hopefully we could encounter someone like them again in our venture in the future.

--

--

Middle Distance Runner
FUN : Tales of a Host

Professionally trained rock head with few more tricks up her sleeves.