Musical Selection: The Isley Brothers|Here We Go Again

Spring’s Mighty Grip On the Cusp of Summer

An Audio Poem

Tre L. Loadholt
Where Wild Things Grow

--

Another shot of my best friend’s plant therapy room. The Healing Space. Photo Credit: Tremaine L. Loadholt

An Audio Poem

Bugs, blooms, and birds are wild
with life, each pressing through their
own way of being.

I am gifted by the heavens to
open my eyes, spread out
my arms, and let the rain wash
over me.

Chirping pummels through my
windows, louder than I can
tolerate, but the harmony
is mesmerizing.

I won't complain.

The dog and I walk around
our neighborhood at a fast
pace, picking up speed as
the wind howls on a subtle
spring day.

The sun plays hide-and-seek
with the clouds and every other
day is a race to beat the
grip of Winter while waiting
on the cusp of Summer.

"I have no fight left in me"
is what I tell a friend who
asks how I’m dealing
with death.

Death of a season
Death of a job
Death of a hobby
Death of family
Death of a friend . . .

"I have no fight left in me."
And it's part true and
part lie but she doesn't
ask a follow-up question
and for this, I am grateful.

I spend most of my
vacation time away at my
best friend’s house lulled
by nature in her
plant therapy room,
losing who I was —
finding who I should be.

I am changing with the
season and with every breath
I'm given, I look forward
to shedding this skin.

I want to see the person
under it.

I've been waiting to
meet her.

©2021 Tremaine L. Loadholt

This audio poem is in response to Wild Flower’s May the Seasons Change prompt. Thank you, Wild One for this creative space.

--

--

Tre L. Loadholt
Where Wild Things Grow

I am more than breath & bones. I am nectar in waiting. “You write like a jagged, beautiful dream.” ©Martha Manning •https://acorneredgurl.com