Summer Heart Lost in Winter

The last breath of summer lingering in my heart

Eurielle
Where Wild Things Grow
1 min readJul 20, 2021

--

Photograph by Eurielle

It was a cold, foggy morning, when I found myself walking outside. My heart was left behind in the summertime. The pathway in front of me was blanketed with a thick layer of snow as the breath of the wind left my cheeks blushed.

I kept walking with my thoughts, locked in my summer dream. Even though my hands were numb from the frosty bite, my heart was still beaming with joy and warmth inside.

My eyes captured the trees with their heads covered by the heavy snow while the grass was submerged in a sea of snowflakes. The atmosphere around was plain and dull as if the heavens forgot every shade of color but a pale white.

As I was nearing the end of my strange walk, I was starting to wake up from my summer dream where the sun was still the protagonist of the season. I started to feel the gust of cold wind through my heart greeting my soul, and that was the time I bade farewell to my lost summer dream.

Eurielle.

--

--