Remote Year

Marissa Ariana Garcia
WhereInTheWorldIsMarissaGarcia
1 min readOct 31, 2017

For those of you that haven’t heard yet, I’ve been accepted to partake in a program called Remote Year! The premise of Remote Year is that you travel around the world to 4 different continents with a handful of strangers over the course of a year.

Screen Shot 2018-02-06 at 11.21.22 AM
Our Itinerary

The “interview” process includes a quick application, a few zoom interviews, and then hearing your fate! After you’re conditionally approved, you have to tackle the next obstacle — asking your employer. To prepare to have a rather difficult conversation, your Remote Year Program Placement contact will send over some materials from remotes past. If you’re lucky like I was, my employer was enthusiastic about me going, there should be no problems asking if you can go. However, for those of you whose employers might be a bit more traditional, there are plenty of Remote Year staff at the ready to help you persuade your companies. After a few nervous conversations with my Director, CHRO, and CEO, I put down my deposit and let my nerves fly!

Check back in for more to come!

--

--