A Marine Veteran & Her Cat Clock

Michael D'Amico
WhereWVULives
Published in
2 min readNov 29, 2016

“I’m a very bright, random person, and it’s exceptionally bright in here. I like pink, in case you can’t tell.”

— Laura Bowen

Laura Bowen is a 28-year-old geology student at WVU. Living alone with her emotional support cat, Laura’s house is decorated top to bottom. From cat clocks to unicorn bottle holders, Laura describes herself as a “random” person. However, the more subtle possessions in her apartment reveal something less obvious; Laura is a veteran of the Marine Corps.

“Home is a safe place for me.”

What is your favorite room and why?
Laura:
Probably in the living room because I really had fun with the décor. That one is kind of a joke [she refers to a crossed rifle, sword, and Wookie mask on the wall]. With Marine Corps rank, there’s this whole underground joke about Lance Corporal, the rank I got out as. It looks like two crossed rifles. So I got that at a fair, and one night was asked what I was going to do with these. Then I realized; the crossed rifles, oh this is perfect! And the Wookie mask is actually a derogatory term toward female marines, but we kind of make it into a joke. We’re called ‘Wookie’s’ because we’re “big and hairy”. So, I got that mask and decided to hang it up.

What are your favorite hobbies/things to do in your spare time?
Laura:
I like to go hiking. I go to Cooper’s Rock a lot, and I actually have a cat backpack and we go hiking.

Why did you choose to live here?
Laura:
After I came [to WVU], I lived at Vandalia for two years and didn’t enjoy it because the apartments were very small, and I had a very playful cat. I just moved to this complex last fall and I like it a lot, it’s a much better spot.

What does your home mean to you?
Laura:
It’s like my escape from the world. I’ve had PTSD for a long time, so being outside, around people, and interacting can be pretty exhausting. So, I just come in and watch Netflix; it’s just my little slice of heaven.

Rent: $875 with utilities.

— Mikey D’Amico, freshman
West Virginia University
Fall 2016

Contact: Michael D’Amico on Medium or @Michael_Damico on Twitter.

--

--