A Transfer Student & His Unpacked Boxes

Hollie Greene
WhereWVULives
Published in
2 min readDec 7, 2016

“At Marshall, I always felt like we were the “other,” but WVU is the state’s university. Being a part of that is really cool.”

— Josh Haddox

Since the start of his freshman year in 2014, Engineering Major Josh Haddox believed he would graduate college from Marshall University. However, in pursuit of his desired degree, he recently made the switch to WVU. Now, as he finishes up his first semester as a Mountaineer, Josh shares what it’s like to make the move from Huntington to Morgantown.

So, what’s it like to go from a dorm to your first apartment?
Josh:
The freedom is totally different from being in a dorm. You were always not necessarily on edge because they give you freedom, but at the same time, I can come and go as I please here. I can have whoever I want come over and hangout for any extended period of time. If someone wanted to come up and stay the whole weekend for the football game, they can do that. No signing in and out.

What do you think of WVU’s campus in comparison to Marshall’s?
Josh:
The campus here is beautiful. The 9th floor of the Engineering Building has one of the best views. You can see the river make the bend, and when the fog is there, it’s so beautiful. You don’t really get that at Marshall because there isn’t a lot of hills. It’s all flat.

Is there anything you miss about Marshall?
Josh: I liked that it was all flat, and it was all within two or three blocks. I can be from one end of the campus to the other in ten minutes. I could always count on not being late for class because of that. Here, it’s not that easy.

What do you like or dislike about living in Sabraton?
Josh: I enjoy the commute. It’s nice to wind down in my vehicle at the end of the day. I don’t want to be downtown. It’s quiet here, and I like the escape.

After spending some time in both places, which do you prefer: Morgantown or Huntington?
Josh:
I think I like it better here now than I did at Marshall, but it’s taken time. The first couple of weeks I was like ‘Ugh, I hate this,’ but now, I’m really getting the beauty of the campus. It’s really shining through. I think this captures the state more than Huntington. Morgantown really captures West Virginia’s beauty.”

Rent: 400 per person ($1,200 total) Utilities Included

— Hollie Greene, junior
West Virginia University
Fall, 2016

Contact: Hollie Greene on Medium or @hdgreene on Twitter.

--

--