Emily & Her Foster Farm

Sijie Yuan(Andy)
WhereWVULives
Published in
2 min readNov 30, 2016

“I wanted more spaces…I had 2 dogs and a cat at the time. I wanted them to have a yard and a fence to play with.”

Emily Zadjura

Cats and dogs were Emily Zadjura’s top priority last year when she was looking for a place to live. The 25-year-old senior found a two-bedroom, one-bath house with a small backyard on Woodbridge street that’s now home for her and her 14 dogs and four cats.

Originally from Bowie, Maryland, Emily’s foster career began unexpectedly at the age of eighteen, when she was followed by a homeless dog driving along a road in Virginia. She tried to pull over and pick up the dog, but it wouldn’t allow Emily to lead it into her car. After an hour had passed, Emily heard a puppy crying and discovered the dog was a mother who buried her baby in the trash to keep it away from the summer heat. She took the puppy with her and from then on she became refuge for animals in need.

Emily says she has a strong support system from her friends and the community, who give Emily a helping hand when she needs it. Occasionally, she hire help if she’s going out of town. Veterinary and other expenses are sometimes large so Emily occasionally raised money through Gofundme.

What’s your favorite part of your house?
Emily:
Definitively the backyard where my puppies can hang out.

What’s your daily schedule?
Emily:
I feed them in the morning and play with them. If I have classes for the day, I will just keep them in the fence, backyard, and inside the house. They do not need lunch. When I come back, I clean up everything and feed them again.

How much you spend on dog /food every week?
Emily:
Probably $75 per week. For a month it could be up to $400.

What is on your notebook?
Emily
: I wrote down my to-do list. I also wrote down adopters’ information so that it reminds me to check it out.

Rent: $650/month

— Sijie Yuan(Andy), junior
West Virginia University
Fall, 2016

Contact: Sijie Yuan(Andy) on Medium or @Andywvu on Twitter.

Emily Zadjura, holds one of her 4 cats and one of her 14 dogs in Foster Farm during a bright aftenoon.

--

--