while(self++) { #41 } // Practicing How To ______

Simon Ayzman
while(self++)
Published in
1 min readDec 4, 2016

When I was younger, I didn’t like my dance classes much. But as I started to care more about it and strove to improve, I started doing a strange thing. I would watch my teacher do the moves, imagine myself doing them in my head and then just barely miming the actions. If it was a jump or a complicated sequence, this helped a lot. Research shows that such imagination is apparently a useful technique for achieving success! All this to say, I prefer to do "dry-runs" where possible. This doesn’t only include doing it myself. It could mean hearing about other people’s experiences and learning from them.

If you enjoyed reading this post, recommend it! And check out more while(self++) below.

--

--

Simon Ayzman
while(self++)

Software Engineer @ Google | Ex-Spotify, Etsy, Bloomberg, & Foursquare | MS in CS & MBA @ UChicago | Valedictorian & Former CS Adjunct Lecturer @ Hunter College