while(self++) { #50 } // Time To End This… Right?

Simon Ayzman
while(self++)
Published in
2 min readDec 13, 2016

Fifty. It’s a nice round number. Divisible by 5. Half of one hundred. Ends in a 0. Fifty posts sounds like an accomplishment. Like a milestone. But some tens of posts ago, I genuinely resolved to stop this daily writing series at #50. I would have proven to myself that “I could do it” at that quota. I didn’t need to continue while(self++). I didn’t foresee the scope of what I was getting myself into — I just went with it. And here I am, more than four dozen posts later. Ready to claim an end to the journey.

However, I don’t feel ready to quit yet. I have more to say, more to reflect about! It feels strange to just end it. Certainly, when it gets busy and I’m tired and there are so many other things to do, it’s easy for me to decide such things for future me. But can you really predict your state of being in advance like that? Either way, future me is now present me, and present me has decided to keep the while loop alive. I’ll most likely revisit this question at some other big milestone, but for now, see you at number 51.

If you enjoyed reading this post, recommend it! And check out more while(self++) below.

--

--

Simon Ayzman
while(self++)

Software Engineer @ Google | Ex-Spotify, Etsy, Bloomberg, & Foursquare | MS in CS & MBA @ UChicago | Valedictorian & Former CS Adjunct Lecturer @ Hunter College