while(self++) { #53 } // Originality in Reflection

Simon Ayzman
while(self++)
Published in
2 min readDec 16, 2016

Sometimes, I write about related concepts. Maybe, I even talk about the same exact thing, if in different contexts. It's difficult to be completely original. Especially when you're a specific you, with your own way of thinking and your own tendency to reflect about life based on personal attitudes and proclivities. It's not that there's anything inherently wrong with this; it's just that others may not be drawn to the same revolving set of thoughts as you.

So who even cares? I’ve thought about why I’ve kept up this writing series, and I’ve realized that it’s much less about my readers and that it’s more about my own self-reflection about the human condition. It’s always nice to know that people care to listen to my thoughts, but in the end, does it matter? I have a dedicated base of 20 to 30 people who read my stuff. I’ve always been honored by the fact that anyone besides my mother and sister actually cares to indulge in my writing. At the end of the day, I’m doing this for myself. When few end up reading a post, it comforts me. And when many do, it (surprises and) grounds me. Either way, it reminds me why I do what I do.

If you enjoyed reading this post, recommend it! And check out more while(self++) below.

--

--

Simon Ayzman
while(self++)

Software Engineer @ Google | Ex-Spotify, Etsy, Bloomberg, & Foursquare | MS in CS & MBA @ UChicago | Valedictorian & Former CS Adjunct Lecturer @ Hunter College