while(self++) { #71 } // Thank You… (Part I)

Simon Ayzman
while(self++)
Published in
2 min readJan 2, 2017

It’s the start of a new year! Around Thanksgiving, I wrote a post about how I wanted to express thanks to the people and for the things that I don’t often explicitly give appreciation to. I figured it would be a good way to start off the new year, on a positive note, by giving thanks. So, in no particular order, thank you…

  1. To my wonderful sister, Jennifer. One of the lights of my life. She shows her intelligence and humor to few, so to see it is a joy.
  2. To the supportive environment that I’m in, that has allowed me to become who I have become. Because without it, my life would have been much less successful.
  3. To the friends who I can pick up a conversation with after months of no contact.
  4. To the First Amendment. The ability to discuss ideas in a country without fear that the government will persecute me for it. [This is partially true, at least. I see you, NSA.]
  5. To my mother, for her intuitive wisdom, unspoken empathy, and deep care for those around her.
  6. To the roof over my head and the food in my refrigerator. Not having to worry about the absence of either of these things during childhood, adolescence, and early adulthood — each vulnerable times in their own ways.
  7. To New York City. For so many reasons. One of which is the ability to engage with so many different cultures. And their food. Oh dear, all that food.
  8. To music. For the emotions it can invoke. Excitement, melancholy, understanding. Like a friend who’s always there.
  9. To the wonderful teacher’s assistants, Aarsh and Karan, for all the selfless hard work they put in this semester in my Computer Science class.
  10. To the internet. For enabling access to information, opening minds, and stretching the imagination of what’s possible.

Keep your eyes peeled for Part II at some point!

If you enjoyed reading this post, recommend it! And check out more while(self++) below.

--

--

Simon Ayzman
while(self++)

Software Engineer @ Google | Ex-Spotify, Etsy, Bloomberg, & Foursquare | MS in CS & MBA @ UChicago | Valedictorian & Former CS Adjunct Lecturer @ Hunter College