while(self++) { #73 } // The Sonder

Simon Ayzman
while(self++)
Published in
1 min readJan 5, 2017

Today, I learned a new word. Sonder.

The realization that each passerby has a life as vivid and complex as your own.

It made me think about one of my favorite words. Solipsism.

The view or theory that the self is all that can be known to exist.

In other words, the belief that the world essentially revolves around you. That everyone else is just an actor in the play of your life. Quite literally the premise of The Truman Show. Sometimes I catch myself in a solipsistic mindset. And I realize how selfish and stupid it sounds. It only takes me a moment to collect myself. And accept the sonder.

If you enjoyed reading this post, recommend it! And check out more while(self++) below.

--

--

Simon Ayzman
while(self++)

Software Engineer @ Google | Ex-Spotify, Etsy, Bloomberg, & Foursquare | MS in CS & MBA @ UChicago | Valedictorian & Former CS Adjunct Lecturer @ Hunter College