while(self++) { #94 } // Losing Steam

Simon Ayzman
while(self++)
Published in
1 min readJan 26, 2017

Recently, I’ve been having trouble writing pieces that I’m really proud of. I feel like I’m losing steam. The writing is getting harder to do, and I’m getting more tired by it. It’s starting to feel like a drag.

But the issue is not a lack of ideas. In fact, I have over ten drafts of topics, experiences, and stories that I want to write about at some point. Whenever inspiration strikes, I write some of the main thoughts down, just so I can remember them later. Then, when I’m in the right mindset to expand on a particular piece, I pick it back up. The issue is that some of them will be really long, so I’m nursing those pieces like the procrastinator that I am.

Indeed, the real issue is that I haven’t followed through on what’s worked in the past. I’m not taking the time to reflect. Yes, I may have made it my goal to write every day, no matter how I feel. But the quality has been lower because even if the topics have been intriguing (at least to me), I haven’t give myself proper space from rumination. I’ll try to change this. Thoughts are always appreciated.

--

--

Simon Ayzman
while(self++)

Software Engineer @ Google | Ex-Spotify, Etsy, Bloomberg, & Foursquare | MS in CS & MBA @ UChicago | Valedictorian & Former CS Adjunct Lecturer @ Hunter College