while(self++) { #62 } // Coldness to Strangers Prevents Human Connection

Simon Ayzman
while(self++)
Published in
2 min readDec 25, 2016

I’m thoroughly a city kid. I do enjoy non-urban settings, particularly when I need to clear my head. Taking a break from the constant (com)motion of the city is all I need sometimes. I love the excitement that New York City has to offer on a day-to-day basis. If I ever catch myself thinking that there’s nothing to do, it’s probably because I haven’t searched hard enough. The city is where my heart is.

But it seems that there is a certain disconnect between New Yorkers. Some amazing experiences can happen if we open ourselves up to others. For example, a few weeks ago, an elderly woman started talking to me randomly in the street. I subsequently wrote about her, in a piece called Judith. That experience was wonderful; I had a deep conversation and connected with a total stranger. Such things are where this video’s romanticism stems from:

But we have reasons for our caution. This “cold” mentality could exist for a number of reasons, reasons that people smarter than me have already reasoned about. We may simply have grown thicker outer shells, based on personal experience. Strangers might pose dangers. Unwanted attention is common, especially for women. Therefore, we know that there is a boundary. So when is it ok to reach out to someone you don’t know? And when is it ok to allow yourself to open up to someone else?

If you enjoyed reading this post, recommend it! And check out more while(self++) below.

--

--

Simon Ayzman
while(self++)

Software Engineer @ Google | Ex-Spotify, Etsy, Bloomberg, & Foursquare | MS in CS & MBA @ UChicago | Valedictorian & Former CS Adjunct Lecturer @ Hunter College