Meet our Interns: Sara Sgarzi

Whirlpool Corporation
Whirlpool Corporation
3 min readOct 30, 2018

Have you ever wondered what an internship at Whirlpool looks like? To answer this question, we have asked some of our interns, working in different roles, to talk about their experiences at Whirlpool EMEA.

Meet Sara Sgarzi, who is working as an Organizational Excellence & Change Management Intern.

I am 23 years old and I am in the second year of the Master of Science in Management degree at Bocconi University.

I’m passionate about Human Resources and I am currently working in the EMEA HQ on the Change Management team.

My passion for Human Resources dates back to three years ago when, during my Bachelor studies, I enrolled in the class of Organization, which I enjoyed a lot. A few months later I started a three-month internship in an HR Consultancy firm, which made me realize I wanted to discover more about the HR world.

Why Whirlpool?
I first “met” Whirlpool during the Milan Marathon, when I saw a group of people running with the Whirlpool racing bib. Of course, I knew Whirlpool Corporation before, but from that moment on, I started perceiving it not just as a manufacturer of home appliances, but also as an attractive employer.
Seeing so many employees participating in such an important event with the Whirlpool logo made me assume that there was an engaging and inclusive climate inside the company, and that was what stimulated me to know more about this reality.

I then had the opportunity to meet company representatives at the Bocconi & Jobs fair and, a few days later, to participate to an assessment day for HR, where I had the chance to look at this reality more closely and to get to know its values.

Working in the EMEA HQ in Milan represents an opportunity of inestimable value to strategically look from above at the whole EMEA Region. The real differential element why I chose Whirlpool is because of its values; in particular, its people-oriented culture and its inclusiveness in valuing each one’s contribution.

In my internship…
In my role as Organizational Excellence & Change Management intern I have the opportunity to follow both functional and cross-functional projects regarding the organizational and operating model of Whirlpool functions at the EMEA level.

The things I appreciate the most are the fact that you are the end-to-end owner of your tasks and the frequent opportunities to get in touch with other team’s representatives.

I feel lucky to be part of a newly born team, where there is much space for innovation and many opportunities to challenge the status-quo.

My Moment that Matters…
Every day at Whirlpool teaches me something new and takes me a step closer to the professional I want to become in the future. I feel that I am making the most out of every moment, every meeting, every day. Of course, however, there have been moments that mattered more than others.

I am thinking in particular of a Workshop Day me and my team designed in partnership with Deloitte, HR Community events, and the training courses, all of which have been insightful and inspiring.

But above all, I am thinking of all the moments I felt free to speak up, asking questions and coming up with new ideas: these are #momentsthatmatter.

--

--

Whirlpool Corporation
Whirlpool Corporation

We are the Number One Major Appliance Manufacturer in the World. Here you’ll find stories about innovation, technology, IoT, our people, and places.