Meet our Interns: Silvia Locatelli

Whirlpool Corporation
Whirlpool Corporation
2 min readOct 16, 2018

Have you ever wondered how internship at Whirlpool looks like? To answer this question, we have asked some of our interns, working in different roles, to talk about their experiences at Whirlpool EMEA.

Meet Silvia Locatelli, who is working as a HR Business Partner Central Functions Intern.

I am Silvia Locatelli and I am obtaining my degree in Business Administration, Leadership & Change Management at Vrije Universiteit of Amsterdam. Just before the end of my Master studies, I had the great opportunity to join Whirlpool as HR Business Partner Intern.

Why Whirlpool?
That’s the easiest question. I choose Whirlpool because of its values. The first thing that caught my attention at the very beginning of my experience in Whirlpool was the importance that the company gives to values and how effectively people inside are all ambassadors of them. Indeed, what does really matter to me is to be part of a values-driven company that promotes concepts such as equality and collaboration. Whirlpool believes and invests in people and is a forward-looking company, dynamic and challenge-seeker. Teamwork and Spirit of Winning could never be reached without Diversity, both in terms of background and culture. In turn, Diversity could not exist without Respect, which ensures and fosters Integrity. Those values are backbone of the People Excellence pillar.

In my internship…
I had the opportunity to understand. Understand what is behind the final product we all see in the stores. Behind one dishwasher there are people, ideas, trials and efforts. I had the chance to understand concretely how a business is driven and how the company’s vision is pursued in every part of the business which works towards the same objective.
I worked with extraordinary people who entrusted and believed in my abilities. The informal climate the company fosters, allowed me to deal with every part of the business and absorb valuable insights from highly qualified and experienced people.

My Moment that Matters…
Feeling a person who matters immersed in a multinational company composed of thousands of employees spread in multiple countries.
The Community Day was surely one of the best moments spent at Whirlpool: a wonderful day spent helping non-profit organizations made me realize how much Whirlpool invests time and resources caring in Social Responsibility themes.

Looking to build a career that matters? We’re always looking for exceptional talents to welcome to our team. Check out Whirlpool EMEA Careers website and apply to one of our internships or full-time jobs.

--

--

Whirlpool Corporation
Whirlpool Corporation

We are the Number One Major Appliance Manufacturer in the World. Here you’ll find stories about innovation, technology, IoT, our people, and places.