Cats and Training

Muffin Enrolls in Harness Training

Just like stores employ merchandise loss-prevention measures, a harness is my cat loss-prevention measure

Randy Runtsch
Whisker Winks by Muffin
3 min readMay 3, 2024

--

Muffin peers down the long hall from her doormat. Photo by the author.

Recently, I shared “Muffin — In Love and At Home,” about how my cat, Little Miss Muffin, enjoys venturing into the world beyond her apartment’s walls.

Technically, Muffin is not going outdoors. She is taking closely supervised forays into the long hallway of the apartment building.

Fifteen years ago, Rita, a timid, gray, soft-coated cat, escaped from our house. My wife, three sons, and I don’t know how she found her way outside. She must have snuck out while someone held a door open.

We searched everywhere in the neighborhood and spoke with every neighbor within a reasonable distance. No one had seen Rita.

Rita. Family photo.

We never saw Rita again.

Muffin is a kind, gentle, and loving sweetheart of a feline. I don’t want to lose her, too. It would devastate me.

After reading the story about Muffin’s forays into the hallway in her publication, Catness

--

--

Randy Runtsch
Whisker Winks by Muffin

Writer | Photographer | Outdoor Lover | Adventure Cyclist | Business Owner | Data Analyst | Software Developer