Whisky Review #3 — Highland Park 12 YO

Divan Visagie
Whisky Philosophy
Published in
2 min readJan 18, 2016

Welcome to my third whisky review, it also happens to be the third bottle I opened in my tiny collection (not the third bottle I owned though)

The Highland park 12 YO is a beautiful Highland whisky made on an island north of the highlands… This is quite confusing when you are trying to learn about the Scotch Regions

The map designed to confuse all whisky noobs, many maps will also disagree with one another

This whisky is my favorite 12 YO in my collection, whether or not that will change only time will tell. But without further ado , here is the review.

Notes:

Nose:

Sweet on arrival, spicy smoke. Chocolaty cocoa note. Caramel. Cooked Apple. Slightly sour pineapple note. Rock candy. Cola. Overall a very complex nose that leans to my personal preferences quite well

Taste:

Sweet on arrival, sour and then we get the wheat/malt taste. Caramel and a bit of a peaty smoke and a hint of fried almond.

Rating:

  • Nose 24/25
  • Taste 20/25
  • Finish 21/25
  • Body 21/25

Total 86/100

Ralphy Review

As with previous reviews , here is what Ralphy has to say about the same whisky. Interestingly it is one of the whiskies he has actually re-reviewed so I have provided a link to both of those videos below.

Whisky Notebook Date: 02 December 2015

--

--

Divan Visagie
Whisky Philosophy

I write about tech and anything else I find interesting