Could Spider-Man Exist? — Pt. 1

The Bioengineering Behind Everyone’s Favorite Wall Crawlers

Zia Steele
Whiteboard to Infinity

--

Spider-Man is one of my all time favorite superheroes. For as long as I can remember, I’ve wanted to swing around on webs, run up walls, and use spider sense. You can imagine how elated I am now that there are so many spider-powered heroes thwiping across the big screen. I love seeing Spider-Man stories brought to life in live action, animation, and video games. In tribute to these awesome webheads and all their fans, I’d like to share my thoughts and findings about whether they could exist in our world.

Here are all the powers Peter, Miles, Gwen, and the gang have displayed over the years that I’d like to investigate:

  • Enhanced Strength and Durability: Virtually all versions of Spider-Man are exceptionally strong, which they’d need to be to swing around the Big Apple and run straight up walls. They can also survive having immense pressures and impact forces applied to their bodies.
  • Spider Sense: Being able to sense threats around them through some sixth sense is another ability shared by almost every version of Spider-Man.
  • Enhanced Speed and Agility: All versions of Spider-Man can move at incredible speeds, easily jump great distances, and react exceptionally quickly.

--

--

Zia Steele
Whiteboard to Infinity

Drawing the lines between reality and fiction…and then blurring them appropriately.